E-Net News

Elon College presents faculty excellence awards

Five faculty members who teach in Elon College, the College of Arts and Sciences, were recognized Thursday, May 4 with the college's annual excellence awards. A selection committee chose the winners, who will receive a monetary award and a certificate of recognition.

Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Katie King, associate professor of psychology
  • Dave Powell, associate professor of computing sciences

Excellence in Service/Leadership Award
  • Donna Van Bodegraven, associate professor of foreign languages
  • Tom Mould, assistant professor of sociology/anthropology

Excellence in Scholarship Award
  • Yoram Lubling, associate professor of philosophy

During the program in Whitley Auditorium, students in the Performing Arts department performed two special numbers. A male ensemble performed "Bio Doi" from Miss Saigon, and seniors Rob Marnell and Perry Medlin performed "Lilly’s Eyes." Both performances were accompanied by Sharon LaRocco, university accompanist and instructor of music.

David Hibbard,
5/6/2006 1:13 PM