E-Net News

Campus leaders recognized at ODK awards ceremony

Student leaders from a variety of academic disciplines were honored April 30 at the annual Omicron Delta Kappa awards ceremony in Whitley Auditorium. The program followed an April 23 ceremony in the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business and preceded upcoming recognition events for students in the School of Communications, the School of Education and Elon College, the College of Arts and Sciences.

ODK recognizes students who have provided outstanding leadership in their junior or senior years, and who have maintained high academic averages.

The School of Communications presented its top scholars in a ceremony immediately following the ODK event. School of Education achievers will be honored May 1, with Elon College, the College of Arts and Sciences, recognizing its top students during a May 7 program.

2009 ODK award winners included the following:

Outstanding Academic Service-Learning Student Paper Award – Kara Elizabeth Cowdrick

Iris Holt McEwen Community Service Award – Kayla M. Hicken

Phi Kappa Phi's national Marjorie Schoch Fellow – Victoria Davis

John W. Barney Memorial Award – Ivy E. Crank

Truitt Center Reconciliation Award – Bonnie Jean Harvey

Ella Brunk Smith Award – Christen Brett Aquino

Student Communications Media Award – Alyse Joy Knorr

William Moseley Brown Leadership Award – Hallie Marie Killmer

Perito Award – Margeaux Rose Corby & Kimberly Brooke Duggins

James S. And Marilyn A. Denton Award – Ryan Paul Chabai

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – Rachel Erin Teem, John Parker McAllister & Michael T. Williams (Elon staff recipient)

W.L. Monroe Christian Education & Personality Award – Henry Caleb Tabor & Hannah Mae Bourquin

Ward Family Learning In Action Award – Meagan Hope Harrison


ODK Officers:

President: Marshall Sharpe

Vice President: Kirby Sypek

Secretary: Tory Chase

Treasurer: Kristy Keiser


Eric Townsend,
5/26/2009 11:09 AM