Site Navagation
Welcome to the School of Communications
Elon word mark Welcome to the School of Communications
  Film Studies

Film Studies

Read our course descriptions online!
Fellows Program
Connections Newsletter
Naming Opportunities
Student Media
Communications Home

Lambda Pi Eta hosts its spring installation ceremony

Members of Elon's chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, the communications honor society, held their spring installation ceremony April 30. The induction was conducted by outgoing officers Becky Farris, Summer Johnson, Betsy Snavely and Holly Edwards.

School of Communications A.J. Fletcher Chair Dr. David Copeland gave the keynote address, centering his message on the importance of ethics in "the cut-and-paste world in which we live."

He listed the names of accomplished journalists and non-fiction writers who have committed recent acts of negligence, out-and-out theft or fabrication, including Dennis Love of the Sacramento Bee; Mike Barnicle, Boston Globe; James Hirsch, Wall Street Journal; Patricia Smith, Boston Globe; Stephen Glass, New Republic; Doris Kearns Goodwin, author of "The Fitzgeralds and the Kennedys;" Stephen Ambrose, best-selling author of all sorts of books including "Wild Blue;" and Joseph Ellis, Pulitzer Prize winner for his book "Founding Brothers."

"Communicators persuade with what they produce," Copeland said, "be it written, spoken or observed. With that kind of power comes responsibility, and responsibility is defined in the final letter of this honor society, 'eta.' The 'eta' stands for character, credibility and ethics."

As he drew to a close the journalism historian drew on the example set by a favorite historic figures. "One of America's great communicators and one of my heroes, Ben Franklin, realized the power of communication and urged all who work in the field to be honest. For Ben - and I hope for you - truth and fair play will be what guides your careers if you gather news, produce news or deal in public relations and advertising. Ben said, 'It is a Principle among Printers, that when Truth has fair Play, it will always prevail over Falsehood.'"

Lambda Pi Eta members inducted April 30 include:

Bianca Ashton, Debra Bard, Teresa Bateman, Katie Beaver, Christian Brescia, Jennifer Brown, Ryan Buckley, Erin Cooper, Nicole Fillipo, Ellen Foust, Pamela Gallerani, Maile Gerken, Mary Griffin, Jennifer Guarino, Laura Hendricks, Jennifer Hildebrand, Idalia Hill, Daren Jennings, Samiha Khanna, Kelly Kopenhafer, Sally Lynch, Juliet Marateck, LaToya Marcus, Jaya Martin, Justin Mazzola, Jennifer McCarthy, Lauren Melfa, Eric Morse, Diana Nolan, Carley Olsen, Annette Randall, Julie Smith, Lauren Villis, Kelly Wilson and Kathryn Zach.

The following students were recently elected to leadership positions for the organization: Christian Brescia, president; Idalia Hill, vice president; Samiha Khanna, secretary; Juliet Mariteck, treasurer.

Elon University, North Carolina 
2700 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (800) 334-8448 
Last Modified:  9/22/02
Copyright Elon University   E-mail: 
Campus Directories