Student media groups select
their most valuable players


A highlight of the 2003 Media Board Banquet was the restoration of an awards ceremony.

Years ago, the annual function featured such awards, but they were discontinued for some reason. The Media Board, led by Rex Waters, assistant dean of students, reinstituted the awards this year.

Waters lauded student media participants for their continuing contributions to the Elon community. He noted the long hours the students log in producing great communications in various formats to enlighten and inform the students, faculty and staff at Elon University.

The Media Board Banquet guest speaker was Jay Mathews, education reporter and columnist for the Washington Post. He spoke about journalism, careers and the important of America's higher-education system. There is a separate, more detailed story on his remarks in this edition of Connections.

On hand to show their support were a number of Elon administrators, including President Leo Lambert, Provost Gerry Francis and University Relations Director Dan Anderson, and deans, including Paul Parsons of the School of Communications, Steven House of Elon's College of Arts and Sciences and Smith Jackson, vice president and dean of student life.

The Media Board is a group that oversees the operations and budgets of Elon's five major student media organizations. It is composed of representatives from the Elon study body, faculty and staff. Each student group was asked to meet to select its most valuable member through a vote of the membership.

Photos displayed through this page show the award winners who were present at the banquet. They were lauded by their groups' advisers and were given special certificates. The complete list of winners is:

Colonnades: Jennifer Phelps.
ESTV: Erin Culp.
Phi Psi Cli: Laura Cunningham.
The Pendulum: Jennifer Guarino.
WSOE: Rob Jackson

The Media Board has appointed a committee to select one student from the group above as Elon University's Outstanding Media Organization Member of the Year. The award will be presented at the ODK Student Leadership Awards Ceremony in May.














Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:
School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Last Modified:  4/11/03
Copyright Elon University