UNC, Elon faculties share fellowship


The School of Communications hosted a "Thanks UNC!" luncheon Feb. 7 in appreciation of our Chapel Hill neighbors producing so many outstanding faculty members now at Elon.

Dean Paul Parsons and about 20 Elon faculty members welcomed about 15 faculty from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, including Dean Richard Cole and Senior Associate Dean Tom Bowers.

Elon professors with graduate degrees from UNC Chapel Hill introduced themselves and identified their UNC mentors, and Dean Cole declared Elon to have the greatest concentration of UNC journalism school graduates of any communications school in the nation.

Six Elon faculty members have a Ph.D. from UNC Chapel Hill, and another three have masterŐs degrees. Those with a Ph.D. are David Copeland, Don Grady, Brad Hamm, Anthony Hatcher, David Loomis and Harlen Makemson, and master's graduates are Mark Fox, Michele Lashley and Nadia Watts.

After a buffet luncheon in one of Elon's television studios, the UNC faculty took a tour of the School of Communications building.



Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail: communications@elon.edu
School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
E-mail: communications@elon.edu
Last Modified:  3/18/03
Copyright © Elon University