Comm Briefs:
ACEJMC visit set


The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications will send a site-visit team to assess Elon University's School of Communications Oct. 23-26.

ACEJMC accredits 104 programs in journalism and mass communications at colleges and universities in the United States and one at a university outside the country. ACEJMC does not rate units or put them in any rank order. The listing of a unit as accredited indicates that the unit has been judged to meet high standards. That judgment is rendered after a self-study prepared by the faculty and administration of the unit and an independent evaluation of the unit by educators and practitioners. The faculty and staff of the School of Communications at Elon are undertaking its self-study this academic year - led by Dean Paul Parsons, Associate Dean Brad Hamm and Department Chair Don Grady - expect Elon to eventually join the select group of fewer than 20 private universities that are currently accredited.

To get a PDF list of ACEJMC standards for accreditation, go to:


Faculty receive R&D funding

Six faculty members in the School of Communications were awarded summer fellowships and grants from the university's Faculty Research and Development Committee. Recipients of summer fellowships include Kelli Burns, David Copeland, Vic Costello, Michael Frontani and Jessica Gisclair. Harlen Makemson has been awarded a summer research grant.


Software to be added, upgraded in labs

Software upgrades and additions will be made to McEwen labs in the next few weeks. Quark XPress will be added in the McEwen 002 lab. DVD Studio Pro will be added to McEwen 205. Upgrades of 1 GB of RAM will be made on the G5s in McEwen 108. In addition, 256 MB compact-flash cards are being added to digital cameras.


Recent grads win NCPA awards

Recent Elon journalism graduates Andi Petrini and Katie Beaver were honored at the 2004 North Carolina Press Association awards. Petrini, of the Independent Tribune in Concord, N.C., placed third in features page design and was also a member of a trio that took third place in the special section category for the "2004 Progress Edition: People and Places in Cabarrus County." Beaver, of the Statesville Landmark & Record in Statesville, N.C., took third place for sports feature writing. Her winning story was about a teenage soccer player from Statesville who survived a bus crash in Paris in the spring.



Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:
School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Last Modified:  12/21/04
Copyright Elon University