Communications students
win top campus honors


Campuswide leadership awards were given out in a special ceremony in Whitley Auditorium April 29. The event was hosted by members of Elon University's leadership honor society, ODK. Among the 11 students honored at the event for their leadership of a student body of approximately 4,500 students were three School of Communications students.

Corporate Communications major Cara Catalfumo received the Ella Brunk Smith Award, given in honor of the wife of Elon's fifth president, Dr. L.E. Smith. It is presented to a woman in the graduating class who has made the greatest contribution to religious and moral life on campus.

Film major Gus Kroustalis received the W.L. Monroe Christian Education & Personality Award. The award is presented to a man in the graduating class who has gone out of his way to perform random acts of kindness and lift the spirits of others.

Journalism major Colin Donohue received the Media Award, given to the one Elon student who exemplifies the finest leadership qualities in work with student organizations devoted to informing the Elon community. Each Elon media organization - Colonnades, Phi Psi Cli, WSOE-Radio, ESTV and The Pendulum - is asked to nominate one student leader for the honor. Donohue, a junior, has worked as editor, managing editor and sports editor of The Pendulum.



Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:
School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Last Modified:  5/01/04
Copyright Elon University