E-Net News

Yuko Miyamoto named to Rawls endowed professorship

Elon leaders announced Monday that the associate professor of biology has been selected the next Japheth E. Rawls Professor for Undergraduate Research in Science.

Associate Professor Yuko Miyamoto

Associate Professor Yuko Miyamoto in the Department of Biology was formally recognized Monday morning as the next Japheth E. Rawls Professor for Undergraduate Research in Science.

The honor is a rotating two-year professorship that supports the efforts of faculty engagement with students in the scholarship of scientific discovery. It is funded through a gift from the estate of Dr. Japheth E. Rawls Jr. ’35 and his wife, Virginia Riddick Rawls, and is for a faculty member in biology, chemistry, environmental studies, exercise science or physics.

Campus leaders honored Miyamoto prior to Elon President Leo M. Lambert's annual address to university faculty and staff, an event that officially started the 2015-16 academic year.

Miyamoto thanked the Rawls family for their support, as well as her colleagues and students who have made undergraduate research professionally rewarding. 

Miyamoto earned her doctorate in immunology in 2001 from The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. After receiving her degree, she completed a postdoctoral fellowship at UNC Chapel Hill prior to joining the Elon faculty in 2005. 

Miymato has collaborated with close to two dozen undergraduate students on research relating to cancer biology and immunology. She is known for her holistic approach to mentoring and is intentional about her students developing both specific lab techniques and broader critical thinking skills.

Miyamoto consistently helps her students to achieve significant outcomes of their research partnerships, including presentations at professional conferences and successful admissions into highly selective graduate programs and medical schools. 

Former Rawls Professors include:

Karl Sienerth (2001 – 2004)
Greg Haenel  (2004 – 2007)
Linda Niedziela (2007 – 2010)
Brant Touchette (2010 – 2013)
Eric Hall (2013 – 2015)

Eric Townsend,
8/16/2015 10:35 PM