E-Net News

Alpha Chi Omega Recognizes Members' Academic Achievements

Alpha Chi Omega hosted its annual Scholarship Tea on Tuesday, May 3, to recognize its members' academic achievements for the 2010-2011 academic year. The event also recognized Elon faculty who have influenced seniors during their time at Elon.

Chapter members recognized for having the top GPAs for their class included:
Julia Okada - freshman
Kirsten Holland - sophomore
Katie Franklin - junior
Claire Tamer - senior

Franklin also was recognized for having the highest overall chapter GPA.

Three members were awarded the semiannual wisdom, devotion, and achievement awards. These awards recognize members for achievements in the chapter, in academics and in their lives:
Wisdom - Elizabeth Riner, for her acceptance to University of Kentucky Pharmacy School
Devotion - Millicent Green, for her work as new member educator
Achievement - Celia Smith, for being named an Elon University Lumen Scholar

The event also recognized Elon professors who made an impact on members of the chapter. The following professors were honored:

Hunter Bacot (political science)
Elizabeth Bailey (health and human performance)
Shereen Elgamal (foreign languages)
Sarah Glasco (foreign languages)
Beth McAlhany (marketing and entrepreneurship)
Coleman Rich (marketing and entrepreneurship)
Staci Saltz (communications)
Gary Tsarsis (finance)
Donna Van Bodegraven (foreign languages)
David Vandermast (biology)

Communications professor Staci Saltz was voted teacher of the year by chapter members.




Elizabeth Bushelow,
8/25/2011 9:39 AM