E-Net News

Employees honored at annual Staff Appreciation Day

Six staff members were honored May 25, 2012, in McCrary Theatre during Elon’s annual Staff Appreciation Day.

From left: Carolyn Nelson, Dave Worden and Marsha Boone


Six Elon University employees were honored May 25 for their contributions to the university in an annual awards program attended by hundreds of staff in McCrary Theatre.

Dave Worden was named Physical Plant Staff Member of the Year, Marsha Boone was named Office Staff Member of the Year and Carolyn Nelson was named Administrative Staff Member of the Year.

Worden is director of environmental services for the university. Boone works as executive assistant to the vice president of admissions and financial planning. Nelson is director of design for the Office of University Communications.

Three new awards were introduced at the program to recognize outstanding contributions from staff members.

The Phoenix Rising Award is presented to one newer member of the Elon staff who has consistently displayed excellence in pursuit of the Elon Commitment with an engaged mind, inspired leadership and global citizenship. The inaugural award went to Jennifer Fish, administrative assistant for the Teaching Fellows program.

The Phoenix Community Engagement Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has demonstrated exemplary service to the university, local or global community through his or her engagement in volunteer organizations. The inaugural award went to Brian Chandler, HVACR supervisor.

From left: Jason "J" McMerty, Jennifer Fish and Brian Chandler

The Phoenix Innovation Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has displayed innovation by creating, designing, improving or implementing a new idea or program that benefits the university or our community. The inaugural award went to Jason “J” McMerty, coordinator of video projects in the School of Communications.

Elon President Leo M. Lambert presented the awards to each recipient.

The 2012 staff day program included a performance by nationally acclaimed musical group Take 6, an a capella group that infuses gospel, jazz and R&B into its music.

Chuck Gantos, director of Campus Safety and Police, and Carolyn Moore, an accounts payable analyst, were recognized for their pending retirements from the university.

Eric Townsend,
5/30/2012 8:31 AM