E-Net News

Employees honored at 2014 Staff Appreciation Day

Six Elon staff members received awards for their outstanding work at the university's annual staff event on May 30.

Six Elon University employees were honored May 30, 2014, for their contributions to the university in an annual awards program attended by hundreds of staff in McCrary Theatre.

Karen Pore (l) was named Administrative Staff Member of the Year, Brian Chandler was named Physical Plant Staff Member of the Year, and Lisa Alcon was named Office Staff Member of the Year.

Brian Chandler was named Physical Plant Staff Member of the Year, Lisa Alcon was named Office Staff Member of the Year and Karen Pore was named Administrative Staff Member of the Year.

Chandler is the university's HVAC supervisor. Alcon is an assistant in the Isabella Cannon Global Education Center. Pore is an associate registrar for the university.

Three staff awards also recognized outstanding contributions from staff members.

The Phoenix Community Engagement Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has demonstrated exemplary service to the university, local or global community through his or her engagement in volunteer organizations. The award went to Faith Shearer, associate athletics director and senior woman administrator.

Faith Shearer (l) received the Phoenix Community Engagement Award, Rodney Parks received the Phoenix Innovation Award, and Sarah Bailey received the Phoenix Rising Award.

The Phoenix Innovation Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has displayed innovation by creating, designing, improving or implementing a new idea or program that benefits the university or our community. The award went to Elon University Registrar Rodney Parks.

The Phoenix Rising Award is presented to one newer member of the Elon staff who has consistently displayed excellence in pursuit of the Elon Commitment with an engaged mind, inspired leadership and global citizenship. The award went to Sarah Bailey, coordinator of data acquisition and management in University Advancement.

Elon President Leo M. Lambert presented the awards to each recipient.

The 2014 staff day program included a performance by nationally acclaimed corporate hypnotist Tom DeLuca. DeLuca entertained staff through his hypnotism of more than a dozen employees on the McCrary Theatre stage.

Five staff members also were recognized on stage for their retirements from the university – Marilynn Burnett, Betty Covington, Cindy Duke, Nelson Gunn and Roy Shaw. Other staff retiring this year include Edie Alexander, Martha Hill, Mary Ann Inabnit, William Ingram, Sharon Justice, Martha “Bonnie” McAlister and Mary Wise.


Eric Townsend,
5/30/2014 11:35 AM