CFA Student Scholarships

Applications due Nov. 14.

The Department of Finance will sponsor up to five LSB students each academic year for CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) student scholarships.

The CFA charter is the designation of excellence in the investment community. Details of the CFA program and charter are available on the CFA Institute website.

These CFA student scholarships are only available to:

  • new CFA Level I candidates enrolling and registering for the first time, and
  • LSB students in their final undergraduate year or graduate students.

Students awarded these scholarships enroll for the CFA Level I June exam at a significantly reduced cost. Since the CFA program enrollment fee is waived and the exam registration fee is discounted, student scholars pay only the $350 cost of curriculum (June exam; cost for print material is extra) plus any applicable taxes. This compares to regular CFA fees that can run more than $1,500 for new candidates appearing for the June 2016 exam. Scholarships cannot be deferred to another exam offering. The discounted fee is non-refundable and non-transferable.

Students interested in participating should submit the following:

  • A short (1-2 single-spaced page) statement of interest highlighting reasons for pursuing a CFA charter
  • An unofficial copy of their Elon University transcript
  • An updated resume (including majors and minors)

Applications will be accepted starting October 1 and are due on November 14 to Dr. Neeraj J. Gupta, CFA in KoBC 222. Contact Dr. Gupta for further details. Awardees will be notified by email shortly thereafter.

Past Recipients of the CFA Scholarship

June 2017 Exam
Eric Burgess
Bela Garcia
Kristin Laub
Harrison Rowe
Connor Wade

June 2016 Exam
Carly Davenport
Alex Francis
Bryan Kozin
Liam Narozanick
Vincent Scozzari

June 2015 Exam
Adam Bernstein
Jeff Baldetti
Denis Dotson
Bryan Miner
Jessica Petrillo

June 2014 Exam
Welsford Bishopric
Peter Fox
Viviana Stavreva
Dennis Wagner

June 2013 Exam
David Brown
Carl Brunaes
Trevor Cummings
JP Riley
Justin Wanner

June 2012 Exam
Mark Barry
Ali Gourd
Chris Kilgore
Andy Matz
Greg Speake
Eric Zelenkofske

June 2011 Exam
Jim Bulsiewicz
Sarah Clayton
Brian Crevi
Kaitlin Marvin
Kara Moore

June 2010 Exam
Lee Dickinson
David Hitch
Nate Jones
Jonathan Michael
Briana O’Neil
Andrew Sturm