Costello Named Chair of BEA Festival of Media Arts

The Broadcast Education Association has named Vic Costello, associate professor of communications, incoming chair of the BEA Festival of Media Arts. He will serve a three-year term beginning in April 2008, at which time he will also become an ex-officio member of the BEA Board of Directors.

The BEA Festival of Media Arts is a national refereed competition and exhibition for faculty creative scholarship. The festival also serves as a showcase for student works in broadcast and new media arts. Entries are accepted in the categories of video, audio, interactive multimedia, scriptwriting, documentary and broadcast news. A principal goal of the festival is to recognize and reward the creative activity of faculty by providing objective data for the promotion and tenure process. Because of this, the peer-review process for faculty submissions is rigorous, with acceptance rates that are consistently equal to or better than the top journals in the field of communications. Last year, the festival received more than 550 entries. The top recipient in each of the 16 faculty and student categories was awarded a $1,000 cash prize from the Charles and Lucille King Family Foundation and professional video editing software from Avid Technologies.

Since 2006, Costello has served as producer for the BEA Best of Festival Awards Ceremony, which is held during the annual convention. Prior to this, he served as a festival competition chair for the Faculty Interactive Multimedia Competition. Costello will become the third person to chair the festival since it began in 2003. He will succeed Louise Benjamin, associate professor in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia. Don Godfrey, professor in the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University, served as the first chair of the festival.


Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:

School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Copyright © Elon University