Students Win Big at RTDNAC Awards


Elon students carried away four awards from the Radio Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas this weekend.  At the annual RTNDAC meeting in Charlotte on Saturday, junior Mitch Pittman won a Silver Award for Best Collegiate Sports Story.  Senior Kyle Andersen, executive producer of Phoenix14News, accepted the Silver Award for Best Collegiate Newscast.  Senior Kristen Kennedy was a double winner with a Silver Award for best Collegiate Television Feature and a First Place award for Best
Collegiate Television News Story.

Phoenix14 adviser, Linda Lashendock, said, “I applauded each and every member of the Phoenix14 news team.  They all have worked so incredibly hard.” 

Richard Landesberg, who teaches broadcast journalism in the School of Communications said, “We have some incredibly talented young journalists in our school.  It is great to see their work recognized by industry professionals.”

In addition to the awards luncheon, students met area news directors and heard from former Fox News Channel and MSNBC correspondent, Rita Cosby.  Landesberg introduced the guest speaker and ran the question-and-answer session with Cosby. 


Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:

School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Copyright © Elon University