School of Education

Elon Teacher Education Committee

The Teacher Education Committee is the governing body for initial teacher licensure programs. The committee meets monthly during the academic year.

Membership includes: Director of Teacher Education, chair; faculty members who serve as program coordinators for the eleven initial licensure programs; Coordinator of Secondary and K-12 Programs; directors of advanced programs; Education Department Chair; Director of Assessment and Accountability; Director of Education Outreach; Director of Teaching Fellows Program; Coordinator of Technology for Teacher Education; two public school representatives; and two non-voting teacher candidates.

Director of Teacher Education, Committee Chair

Deborah Long
Interim Dean of the School of Education and Professor of Education
Mooney 102A
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5859
dlong@elon.edu
more »

Early Childhood Education Program Coordinator

Heidi Hollingsworth
Assistant Professor of Education
Mooney 307E
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6030
hhollingsworth@elon.edu
more »

Elementary Education Program Coordinator

Marna Winter
Lecturer in Education and Director of Education Outreach
Mooney 110B
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5881
mwinter2@elon.edu
more »

Middle Grades Education Program Coordinator

Joan Barnatt
Assistant Professor of Education
Mooney 102B
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5971
jbarnatt@elon.edu
more »

Special Education Program Coordinator

Stephen Byrd
Associate Professor of Education
Mooney 205D
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5438
sbyrd2@elon.edu
more »

Secondary English Program Coordinator

Kim Pyne
Assistant Professor of English
Alamance Building 305B
2338 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5732
kpyne@elon.edu
more »

Secondary History/Social Studies Program Coordinator

Bernard Curry
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Education
Lindner Hall - Arts & Sciences 209B
2035 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6444
curryb@elon.edu
more »

Secondary Mathematics Program Coordinator

Jan Mays
Senior Lecturer in Mathematics
Duke 201C
2320 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6297
jmays@elon.edu
more »

Secondary Science Program Coordinator

Terry Tomasek
Associate Professor of Education and Director of the Elon Academy
Mooney 302E
2108 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5854
ttomasek@elon.edu
more »

K-12 Music Program Coordinator

Gerald Knight
Associate Professor of Music
Center for the Arts 223
2800 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5244
gknight2@elon.edu
more »

K-12 Physical Education/Health Program Coordinator

Lynda Butler-Storsved
Senior Lecturer in Health and Human Performance
Koury Center (Athletics) 222
2525 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5240
lstorsved@elon.edu
more »

K-12 Spanish Interim Program Coordinator

Jeff Carpenter
Assistant Professor of Education and Director of Teaching Fellows Program
Mooney 209A
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5969
jcarpenter13@elon.edu
more »

Secondary/K-12 Programs Coordinator

Jeff Carpenter
Assistant Professor of Education and Director of Teaching Fellows Program
Mooney 209A
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5969
jcarpenter13@elon.edu
more »

Director of M.Ed. Program

Joan Barnatt
Assistant Professor of Education
Mooney 102B
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5971
jbarnatt@elon.edu
more »

Education Department Chair

Richard Mihans
Associate Professor of Education and Chair of the Department of Education
Mooney 110A
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5861
rmihans@elon.edu
more »

Director of Education Outreach

Marna Winter
Lecturer in Education and Director of Education Outreach
Mooney 110B
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5881
mwinter2@elon.edu
more »

Director of Teaching Fellows Program

Jeff Carpenter
Assistant Professor of Education and Director of Teaching Fellows Program
Mooney 209A
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5969
jcarpenter13@elon.edu
more »

Coordinator of Technology for Teacher Education

Barbara Taylor
Associate Professor of Computing Sciences
Duke 101D
2320 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6239
btaylor@elon.edu
more »

Other Committee Members