Faculty Awards

Tom Arcaro   Several members of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology have received awards while at Elon:

Tom Arcaro, professor of sociology and director of Project Pericles, received the 2005 Daniels-Danieley Award for Excellence in Teaching. Arcaro also was a co-recipient of the Elon College Excellence in Service/Leadership Award in 2005. He joined Elon's faculty in 1985.
Laurence Basirico
Larry Basirico, professor of sociology, was selected for a 2002 Best of Elon Award. Basirico has been a member of Elon's sociology department since 1983. The annual Best of Elon awards are sponsored by the The Pendulum, Elon's campus newspaper. Students, faculty and staff nominate members of the Elon community for the awards.
Anne Bolin

Anne Bolin, professor of anthropology, received Elon's 2000-01 Distinguished Scholar Award. Bolin has been an Elon faculty member since 1988. The award was established in 2000 to recognize a faculty member whose research has earned peer commendation and respect, while making a significant contribution to his or her field of study.
Thomas Henricks

Tom Henricks, professor of sociology, was the 1989-90 winner of Elon's Daniels-Danieley Award for Excellence in Teaching. Henricks joined the Elon faculty in 1977. Created to recognize excellence in scholarship, the award was established by President Emeritus J. Earl Danieley and his wife, Verona Daniels Danieley, in honor of their parents.
Tom Mould

Tom Mould, assistant professor of sociology & general studies and director of the Social Science Fellows program, received the 2005-06 Elon College Faculty Excellence in Service/Leadership Award. He joined Elon's faculty in 2001.