Elon University SearchE-mailE-net!Elon University Home Page


About the school


Professional and Academic Development


Registrar's Office

Student services

Faculty and administration

Student organizations

Library / IT


Greensboro Campus

Advisory Board

Statement Regarding
ABA Approval

About Elon University

Maps and directions

Contact us


School of Law

Gergen calls for new approaches to legal education

Elon Law reception - March 6, 2007Former presidential adviser David Gergen, who chairs the Elon School of Law advisory board, says he favors creative approaches to improving the law school experience. Gergen told audiences in Durham and Raleigh, N.C., on March 6, that Elon is building a law school "with a difference," providing benefits to its students and society.

Gergen was in North Carolina for three events to introduce the Elon University School of Law to leaders in the Triangle. During a lunch, reception and dinner, he told legislators, lawyers and judges, and business leaders that the law school Elon has established in downtown Greensboro is developing new approaches to legal education. He cited the program's emphasis on constant, constructive feedback to students; the involvement of working attorneys as preceptors who mentor and guide students' professional development; and an emphasis on leadership training. He said those initiatives enticed him to become involved with the school.

>>Click here to listen to Gergen's comments

Gergen served as adviser to four U.S. presidents and is director of the Center for Public Leadership at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. He also serves as editor-at-large at U.S. News & World Report, as an analyst on various broadcast news programs, and is a frequent lecturer at venues around the world.

Joining Gergen in meeting with Triangle leaders was Elon President Leo M. Lambert, who said Elon Law students are making strong connections in the community and are preparing to take on roles of leadership in society.

>>Click here to listen to President Lambert's comments

Lambert invited attendees to visit the school and become involved in a variety of ways. Also representing the law school at the events were founding Dean Leary Davis; faculty members George Johnson, Steven Friedland and Catherine Dunham; staff members Eugenia Leggett, Alan Woodlief, Margaret Kantlehner, Tammy Horn, and Sharon Gaskins; Elon Law students Leslie Price and Mital Patel; and Elon Law advisory board members A.P. Carlton, Henry Frye, Maureen O'Connor and James Holshouser.