Elon University SearchE-mailE-net!Elon University Home Page


About the school


Professional and Academic Development


Registrar's Office

Student services

Faculty and administration

Student organizations

Library / IT


Greensboro Campus

Advisory Board

Statement Regarding
ABA Approval

About Elon University

Maps and directions

Contact us


School of Law

Carolina Classic brings mock trial teams to Elon Law
Carolina Classic mock trial competition opening sessionMore than 150 undergraduates representing 9 universities participated in the Carolina Classic mock trial competition, held Nov. 17-18 at Elon University School of Law and the historic Guilford County Courthouse nearby in downtown Greensboro.

Each university entered as many as three teams in the competition, which was judged by local attorneys, Elon Law students and Elon University professors and alumni. Team trophies went to:

•First place: University of Georgia #826 (7 wins, 1 loss)
•Second place: University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill #526 (6 wins, 1 loss, 1 tie)
•Third place: Furman University #584 (6 wins, 2 losses)
•Honorable Mention: Georgia Tech #944 (5 wins, 2 losses, 1 tie)

Individual awards were presented to students who served as attorneys and witnesses during the competition:

Michael Rafi, Furman #584
Palmer Heenan, UNC #526
Elizabeth Lyverly, Campbell #452
Cliff Satel, Duke #304
David Hodges, UNC #527
Brian Mink, Georgia #827
Andrew Slater, Richmond #760

Dwayne Barrs, Furman #584
Lauren Gundrum, Duke #304
Abhinav Kommandur, UNC #528
Anand Varadarajan, Duke #304
Katie Ward, Elon #694

The tournament was coordinated by first-year Elon Law student William Warihay; Elon junior Lauren Nichols, president of the Elon Mock Trial team; and Matrice Williams, faculty member and coach of the Elon team. More than 40 people volunteered their time to serve as judges for the competition, including:

Elon University Alumni
Jaya Martin
Sarah Mansell

Elon University Professors
Steve Schulmann
Nim Bachelor
Jim Barbour
Betty Morgan
Michelle Pautz
Tom Noble (Elon Law)

Elon Law Students
Seth Avant
Brian Baker
Melanie Crenshaw
Stephanie Fabricius
Adam Arthur
Dave Klein
Chris Rahilly
Marion Hazel
Samuel Hyde

Local Attorneys
Jim Exum (Elon Law)
Chris Parrish- DA
Veronica Edmisten- DA
Susan O’Hale- DA
Melanie Hamilton
Sam Johnson
John Flynn
Kenneth Doss
Kenneth Kyre
Ray Deal
Steve Balog
Alex Elkan
Kim Bonuomo
Deborah Bowers
Sam Margulies
Barbara Morgenstern
Bert Andia
Desmond Sheridan
Peter Whitefield
Gwendolyn Bookman
Sarah Coble
Jim Bryan
Marian Kshetrapal
LaToya Marcus