Important Dates

2017-2018

Fall Term   |   Winter Term   |   Spring Term   |   Summer Session I   |   Summer Session II

Day

Date

Event

FALL TERM 2017

   
Thursday August 17Annual Teaching and Learning Conference -- New faculty are especially encouraged to attend. This is a great place to meet new colleagues and to think about engaged learning. The conference usually attracts participants from 20+ area colleges and universities.
Monday - Friday August 21-25Planning Week -- You will attend university-wide, school-based, and departmental meetings this week.
Tuesday August 23New Full-Time Faculty Orientation, 9:00am-4:00pm -- Belk Pavilion (not Belk Library) room 208
Wednesday August 24New Adjunct, Part-Time Faculty Orientation, 6:00pm-7:30pm -- Belk Pavilion (not Belk Library) room 208
Saturday August 27 New Student Convocation 9:00am -- faculty attend wearing academic regalia
Tuesday August 29 Classes begin
Friday September 1 University-wide faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday September 15 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208
Friday - Sunday October 6-8Family Weekend -- Faculty meet parents Saturday morning
Friday October 6 Town hall faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday October 13 Mid-semester grades due at 3:00pm
Friday - Tuesday October 13-17 Fall break (Begins following afternoon classes on Friday. University closed on Monday.)
Friday October 20 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208
Friday November 3 University-wide faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday November 10 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208
Friday - Sunday November 17 - November 26 Thanksgiving break (Begins following evening classes on Friday. University closed Thursday and Friday.)
Friday December 1 University-wide faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday December 7 Last day of classes
Saturday December 8 Reading Day
Monday- Friday December 9-14 Final exams (Access the exam schedule on OnTrack.)
Monday December 15 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting & Unit I workshop, 10:30am-1:00pm in Belk Pavilion 208 (lunch provided after the workshop)
Tuesday December 18

Grades due at 12:00pm

Monday - Friday Dec 23-29 Winter holiday (university closed)
Friday December 30 New Year's Day holiday (university closed)
Back to top    

Winter Term 2018

   
Mon-Wed January 3-4 Registration
Tuesday January 3 Classes begin
Thursday January 12 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 11:45am-1:00pm in Belk Pavilion 208
Monday January 15 Martin Luther King Jr. holiday (no classes)
Tuesday January 22 Classes end
Tuesday January 24New Adjunct, Part-Time Faculty Orientation, 5:30pm-7:00pm -- Belk Pavilion (not Belk Library) Room 208
Wednesday January 23 Winter Term final exams
Thursday January 25Grades due at 12:00pm
Back to top    

Spring Term 2018

   
Monday January 29 Classes begin
Friday February 2 School-based faculty meetings, 3:00pm
Friday February 17 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208
Friday March 2 University-wide Faculty Meeting, 3:00pm
Friday-Saturday March 3-4 Fellows Weekend
Friday March 16 Mid-semester grades due at 3:00pm
Friday - Sunday March 16-25 Spring Break (begins on March 17 at 2:50pm)
Friday April 6 Town hall faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday April 13 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208
Monday - Friday April 24-28CELEBRATE! Week (Elon's annual, weeklong celebration of student achievements in academics and the arts.)
Tuesday April 24SURF - Spring Undergraduate Research Forum (no classes)
Friday May 4 University-wide Faculty Meeting, 3:00pm
Tuesday May 8 Last day of classes
Wednesday  May 9 Reading Day (No classes, evening exams begin)
Thursday - Tuesday May 10-15 Final exams (Access the exam schedule on OnTrack.)
Wednesday  May 16 Senior grades due by 9:00am
Friday May 18Grades due at 12:00pm
Saturday May 19Commencement (faculty attend in academic regalia)
Back to top  

 

Summer Session I - 2018

   
Thursday May 31 Classes Begin
Thursday June 28 Last Day of Classes
Friday June 29 Final Exams
Thursday July 5Grades due at 12:00pm
Back to top    

Summer Session II - 2018

   
Friday July 6 Classes Begin
Friday July 27 Last Day of Classes
Tuesday July 31 Final Exams
Friday August 3Grades due at 12:00pm
Back to top