Don't miss your newsletter. Add to your address book or safe list.
Trouble viewing this email? View the online version.

The School of Communications experienced a very unusual end of the school year -- three retirements and the start of a permanent Los Angeles presence.

Phyllis Phillips and Pam Baker were the first staff members that I hired as dean 11 years ago, and ironically they're now the first to retire since the school's founding. This summer, Professor Jim Drummond of sport and event management will retire after 25 years at Elon.

Meanwhile, J McMerty has moved to a year-round position in Los Angeles, where he will direct both the Elon in LA summer program as well as a spring term program that begins in 2013.

Still, a lot of familiar faces remain around here, so come back for Homecoming or other occasions to see your former teachers and the familiar campus haunts.

Paul Parsons, Dean

School honors inaugural Distinguished Alumni

Inaugural Distinguished AlumniJo Craven McGinty '85 and Doug Finberg '94 were honored during the spring as the first Distinguished Alumni of the School of Communications. McGinty is the projects editor for The New York Times and has been part of two Pulitzer Prize-winning teams at the Times and The Washington Post. Finberg is the executive vice president for marketing at MGM Studios in Los Angeles.

Click here to read about McGinty's award and Finberg's award.

Jay Light '12 receives $18,000
to make a movie in national contest

Jay Light '12

A recent graduate who majored in media arts and entertainment, Jay Light '12, was one of six students from four universities to have his script selected for the final round of the Sprite Films competition, a nationwide contest that awards students money to produce their films and a national platform to screen them. The inspiration for Light's film, "Rocketeer," reaches back to a fond memory from his childhood. Click here to read more.

Business grant to fund visiting journalist, student internships

The Donald W. Reynolds Center for Business JournalismThe Donald W. Reynolds Center for Business Journalism has awarded the School of Communications a $50,000 grant to host a visiting business journalist in spring 2013 and support student internships in business journalism. Elon was one of three universities announced as Reynolds grant recipients. Click here to read more.

David Copeland awarded Elon's highest teaching honor

David Copeland

Professor David Copeland won the Daniels-Danieley Award for Excellence in Teaching at Elon's annual faculty-staff awards luncheon. Copeland, also the director of the Interactive Media master's program, came to Elon 11 years ago. He is a prolific author, and students and colleagues have labeled him an inspiring teacher. Click here to read more.


Three faculty publish books

Faculty BooksAssociate professors Barbara Miller and Vic Costello and assistant professor Naeemah Clark have published books in the past year. Miller wrote Marketplace Advocacy Campaigns: Generating Public Support for Business and Industry, which studies the persuasive power of genre advertising and public relations. Costello wrote Multimedia Foundations: Core Concepts for Digital Design for students interested in becoming multimedia storytellers and producers. Clark coauthored Diversity in U.S. Mass Media, which focuses on issues related to race, ethnicity, disability, class and more.

Elon joins Pulitzer Center's
Campus Consortium

Pulitzer Center's Campus ConsortiumThe School of Communications has become a member of the Campus Consortium of the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting, which will allow students to participate with center journalists in covering under-reported global systemic issues. The school is one of only 17 collegiate partners in the consortium. Click here to read more.

Stay connected!


Visit our website

Update your information

Alumni Association website

Submit a Class Note

School News

Latest class of iMedia students graduates from program

Forty-one students graduated from the Interactive Media master's program in May, marking an end to their 10-month graduate study experience. "60 Minutes" senior producer Michael Radutzky delivered the Commencement address. Read more ...

Junior wins national
digital media scholarship

Junior Gloria So has been awarded the LIN Digital Media Scholarship Award for 2012, which will pay her up to $20,000 annually for the next two years. Read more ...

iMedia graduate presents
at international conference

Interactive Media alumna Rachel Johnson '12 participated in a panel discussion at the Global Studies Association's 2012 conference on Global Rebellion and Dystopia at the University of Victoria in Canada. Read more ...

J McMerty receives new university staff award

J McMerty, director of the Elon in Los Angeles program, received the inaugural Phoenix Innovation Award at the university's Staff Appreciation Day in May. The award honors McMerty's work in growing Elon's summer domestic internship programs. Read more ...

Students, faculty cover
international competition

A School of Communications team of faculty and students covered this year's ACM-International Collegiate Programming Contest in Warsaw, Poland. The team conducted interviews with participants and filmed much of the event. Read more ...

Get excited for
Homecoming 2012!

The School of Communications and the Elon Alumni Association are in the final stages of planning for Homecoming - Oct. 19-21. Visit the Elon Homecoming website today for more information. Check back in September for the full schedule of events and registration. We can't wait to see you!

Visiting campus?

Let us know!

This email was sent by: Elon School of Communications
Elon University, 2850 Campus Box, Elon, NC, 27244, United States of America