Elon University - School of Law
School of Law - Elon University

Milestones and achievements of
Elon University School of Law

October 2002 – Elon University Board of Trustees authorizes feasibility study for a school of law

October 2004 –Trustees vote to establish the law school in downtown Greensboro, N.C., following successful fundraising effort led by Elon University President Leo M. Lambert and Jim Melvin, president of the Joseph M. Bryan Foundation

January 2005 – Work begins on law school facility, the former Greensboro Central Public Library building

March 2005 – Noted North Carolina legal educator and lawyer Leary Davis named founding dean

September 2005 – Former presidential adviser David Gergen named chair of the Law School Advisory Board

Sandra Day O'Connor dedicates law schoolJanuary 2006 – Law school facility named for Greensboro business leader and philanthropist H. Michael Weaver; inaugural faculty announced

July 2006 – Weaver Building completed; North Carolina Business Court hears first case in the law school's courtroom

September 2006 – U.S. Supreme Court Justice (ret.) Sandra Day O'Connor formally dedicates the school with an inaugural class of 115 students

September 2007 – The Joseph M. Bryan Distinguished Leadership Lecture Series begins, bringing national leaders in the law together with Elon Law students

June 2008 – Elon Law is provisionally approved by the American Bar Association, becoming one of the nation’s 200 approved law schools

September 2008 – The law school reaches full enrollment, with three classes

February 2009 – George R. Johnson Jr. named the second dean of the law school

April 2009 – Members of the student body publish first edition of the Elon Law Review

May 2009 – Elon University School of Law graduates its charter class

 Home Meet members of the
charter class
Faculty discuss
the charter class
Elon Law