The Leadership Program

The Leadership in the Law Award

In 2011, Elon University School of Law established an annual award to recognize lawyers who make outstanding contributions to the profession and to society. Since 2011, Elon Law has presented this award at the annual Leaders in the Law luncheon in Raleigh, N.C., an event hosted by North Carolina Lawyers Weekly in partnership with Elon Law.

Leadership in the Law Award Recipients

2015Leslie J. Winner

Leslie J. Winner

Executive Director, Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation

“Leslie Winner’s contributions to our state are legion and legendary. From civil rights to public service to education to philanthropy, there is nary a place in North Carolina that does not bear the imprint of some good work that she has undertaken. Leslie’s commitment to fairness and equality with excellence and integrity commands our attention emblematic of a lawyer leader." - Elon Law Dean Luke Bierman, presenting the 2015 Leadership in the Law Award to Leslie J. Winner, Sept. 25, 2015

Learn more

NC Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Martin2014

The Honorable Mark Martin

Chief Justice, Supreme Court of North Carolina
“Chief Justice Mark Martin's lifetime of legal and judicial service to North Carolina at the highest levels of state government embodies the kind of leadership we expect of members of the Elon Law community. Chief Justice Martin is a great public servant, distinguished lawyer and jurist, and exemplar of leadership in our profession. It is only fitting then for Chief Justice Martin to be recognized by Elon Law with the Leadership in Law Award.”  – Elon Law Dean Luke Bierman, presenting the 2014 Leadership in the Law Award to the Honorable Mark Martin, Sept. 19, 2014
Learn more

The Honorable Charles L. Becton


Charles L. Becton

Attorney, Judge and Higher Education Leader, North Carolina

“To emerge as one of North Carolina’s true leaders from the challenging times of the American civil rights era and to exhibit an unerring focus on the well-being of others throughout his career is a supreme testament to his leadership. We at Elon admire Judge Becton’s trailblazing leadership, his devotion to rooting out injustice, his consistent service to the betterment of the legal profession, his role as a teacher of law and his focus on the expansion and improvement of educational opportunities for young people across the state and nation." – Elon Law Professor George R. Johnson, Jr., presenting the 2013 Leadership in the Law Award to the Honorable Charles L. Becton, Sept. 18, 2013
Learn more

Guilford County Public Defender Fred Lind


Fred Lind

Guilford County Public Defender

“For showing us what true dedication to building and sustaining a fair judicial system looks like, for showing so much care in mentoring emerging lawyers in our community, for exemplifying the determination, consistency and professionalism that defines great public defenders, and for modeling for us the life of a lawyer-leader, I am honored to present Frederick G. Lind with Elon University School of Law’s 2012 Leadership in the Law Award.” – Elon Law Professor George R. Johnson, Jr., Sept. 19, 2012
Learn more

Elon 2011 leadership award recipients Mike Marshall and Karen McKeithen Schaede


Micahel T. Marshall and Karen McKeithen Schaede

Greensboro attorneys and founding Elon Law attorney mentors (precptors)

“Mike Marshall and Karen McKeithen Schaede are setting a standard of excellence for the role of lawyers as mentors and advisers to Elon law students. We are extremely fortunate to have the benefit of Mike and Karen’s wisdom, support, and involvement.” – Elon Law Professor George R. Johnson, Jr., Oct. 14, 2011

“Karen was just what I needed to make the adjustment to law school. Not only was she was there for me when I had questions about classes or law school in general, but she was great at inquiring about my career goals and giving suggestions on how to meet those goals." – Alumnus Samantha J. Gilman ‘11

“Mike has always been a great source of wisdom and his eagerness to share his experience is invaluable to those students he has mentored.” – Alumnus Robert J. Webster ‘13

Learn more