The Moot Court Program at Elon Law

Intramural Moot Court Competition

Judge Volunteer Form imageEach fall, the Moot Court Board invites rising 2L and 3L students at Elon Law to compete in the Intramural Moot Court Competition. This competition provides students an excellent opportunity to practice and sharpen the research, writing and oral advocacy skills they learned during the first year. In addition, up to 20 of the top competitors in this annual competition are invited to join the Moot Court Board and to participate in the Board’s activities, which include sponsoring the intramural competition, hosting the Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition, and fielding our own teams in competitions across the country. Most years, one quarter to one half of 2L students compete in the intramural competition. 

The fall 2015 competition will take place on September 21 and 24, and October 1. Lawyers and judges available to volunteer as judges for the Intramural Moot Court Competition should complete the Judge Volunteer Form available here. We appreciate the service of the distinguished judges and attorneys who volunteer their time in support of this competition. Questions about Intramural Moot Court Competition or the Moot Court Program may be directed to Associate Dean Woodlief at

Winning teams of the 2013 Elon Law Intramural Moot Court Competition with final round judges

Report on the 2014 Intramural Competition

Report on the 2013 Intramural Competition

Report on the 2012 Intramural Competition

Report on the 2011 Intramural Competition

Report on the 2010 Intramural Competition.

Report on the 2009 Intramural Competition.

Report on the 2008 Intramural Competition.

Photo information: Hayley Sherman and John Boschini, third and fourth from left, won the 2013 intramural moot court competition at Elon Law. Genna Petre and Bree Shadrick, fifth and sixth from left respectively, were the first-runner up team. Shadrick was also named “Best Oralist from the Final Round.” They are pictured with final round judges, from left, the Honorable Patrick Auld, magistrate judge of the United States District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina, the Honorable Robert H. Edmunds, Jr., associate justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, and the Honorable Robert N. Hunter, Jr., associate judge of the North Carolina Court of Appeals.