• Moseley Center
Inclusive Community

Elon's A Campus of Difference Series

A CAMPUS OF DIFFERENCE™ is a diversity education session created by the Anti Defamation League (ADL).  The ADL is a leader in the development and delivery of anti-bias training and resources for college and university campuses throughout the United States. On Elon’s campus, this session invites faculty and staff to explore the impact of stereotypes, bias and discrimination on individuals and on the entire campus climate.

Building on this awareness, they are able to identify effective strategies to respond effectively to bias, implement effective policies on campus, and inspire students to speak out and become the advocates and voices of positive change on campus. A CAMPUS OF DIFFERENCE™ workshops are helping establish more welcoming, inclusive and diverse environments where people have true opportunities to reach for their fullest potential as global citizens and leaders of tomorrow.

Elon has made a commitment to diffusing this sort of understanding throughout our community.  A group of TRAINED FACILITATORS is working throughout campus to deliver A Campus of Difference sessions.  A CAMPUS OF DIFFERENCE sessions are open to students, staff and faculty.  Our trained cadre of facilitators will offer both standard, regular 4 hour sessions and tailored sessions.

While student are at Elon, they will have many opportunities to engage with individuals and communities with values and customs both similar to and different than their own.

These experiences will happen not only in their daily interactions in class, on campus and in the residence halls, but also in the experiences in which they choose to participate: internships, leadership, service, study abroad and undergraduate research.

The ADL Campus of Difference sessions work to support those interactions through:

  •     Exploring how diversity on campus enhances the environment
  •     Promoting experiences with people from different cultures and backgrounds
  •     Allowing students to explore their own culture and experiences along with their fellow students
  •     Enhancing their ability to communicate and connect with the wide range of people they will encounter while at Elon
  •     Empowering students to be part of the solution to campus bias and discrimination

All first year students are expected to participate in A CAMPUS OF DIFFERENCE during our diversity themed Winter Term.  Winter term sessions are offered every day of winter term.

Throughout the 2015 Spring Semester, tailored sessions will also be offered by request.  Please contact Leigh-Anne Royster to request a session for your department, group or organization. 

The following faculty and staff are all members of the Elon Campus of Difference Cadre!

MarQuita Barker
Associate Director of Residence Life for Operations and Information Management
Global Building C 103B
2980 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7300
mbarker4@elon.edu
more »
Jaimie Biermann
Assistant Director of Residence Life - Danieley Center
Violet Hoffman Daniel Commons 105
2980 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7310
jbiermann@elon.edu
more »
Matthew Antonio Bosch
Director of Gender and LGBTQIA Center
Moseley Center 211
2984 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6228
mbosch3@elon.edu
more »
Jamie Butler
Assistant Director for the Center for Race, Ethnicity, and Diversity Education
Moseley Center 221B
2985 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7243
jbutler18@elon.edu
more »
Cindy Conn
Assistant Professor of Business Communication
Koury Business Center 250
2075 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5924
cconn2@elon.edu
more »
Jon Dooley
Assistant Vice President for Student Life/Dean of Campus Life
Moseley Center 221
2985 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7109
jdooley4@elon.edu
more »
Stacie Dooley
Coordinator of Inclusive Community Programs
Ellington He Ctr 301 S Okelly 104 G
2040 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7265
sdooley3@elon.edu
more »
Marcus Elliott
Associate Director of Watson/Odyssey
Mooney 302H
2108 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5847
melliott13@elon.edu
more »
Kimberly Fath
Assessment Specialist
Alamance Building 216
2309 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5420
kfath@elon.edu
more »
Kenneth Fernandez
Assistant Professor of Political Science and Policy Studies and Director of Elon Poll
Gray Pavilion - Pol. Science 101A
2333 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6438
kfernandez@elon.edu
more »
Dennis Franks
Director of Campus Safety and Police
McCoy Commons 107C
2010 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5555
dfranks3@elon.edu
more »
Esther Freeman
Director for Watson and Odyssey Scholars Program
Mooney 302I
2108 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5851
efreeman7@elon.edu
more »
Jan Fuller
University Chaplain and Lecturer
Academic Village Numen Lumen P 107
2960 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7729
jfuller3@elon.edu
more »
Jenn Grimmett
Media Services Assistant
Carol Grotnes Belk Library 101
2550 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6591
jgrimmett@elon.edu
more »
Rike Habbel
Assistant Director of Residence Life - Global Neighborhood
Global Commons 101
2980 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7339
rhabbel@elon.edu
more »
Rene Jackson
Associate Director of Career Services for Graduate School Programs and Director of PACE Program
Moseley Center 140
2020 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6538
rjackson11@elon.edu
more »
Laurin Kier
Director of Tutorial Services and Assistant Professor of Sociology
Carol Grotnes Belk Library 123
2550 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6515
lkier@elon.edu
more »
Steven Lessner
Instructor in English
Alamance Building 303C
2338 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5883
slessner@elon.edu
more »
Deandra Little
Director, Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning and Associate Professor of English
Belk Pavilion-Teaching&Learning 103
2610 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5205
dlittle@elon.edu
more »
Cara McFadden
Assistant Professor of Sport and Event Management
Powell Building 223A
2350 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5884
cmcfadden@elon.edu
more »
Livni Mendez
Program Assistant - Elon Academy
Mooney 302
2108 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6109
lmendez@elon.edu
more »
Richard Mihans
Associate Professor of Education and Chair of the Department of Education
Mooney 110A
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5861
rmihans@elon.edu
more »
Vickie Moehlman
Captain - Campus Safety and Police
McCoy Commons 107F
2010 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5555
vmoehlman@elon.edu
more »
Sylvia Muñoz
Associate Director for the Center for Race, Ethnicity, and Diversity Education/Director of the Spanish Center
Moseley Center 221
2985 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6516
munozs@elon.edu
more »
Max Negin
Assistant Professor of Communications
McEwen - Comm. 004
2850 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5708
mnegin@elon.edu
more »
Becca Patterson
Coordinator for Health Promotion
Ellington He Ctr 301 S Okelly 104A
2040 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7285
bbishopric@elon.edu
more »
John Pickett
Elon Academy Assistant Director of Scholar Support
Mooney 302D
2108 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6110
jpickett@elon.edu
more »
Kim Pyne
Assistant Professor of English
Alamance Building 305B
2338 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5732
kpyne@elon.edu
more »
Sandra Reid
Lecturer in Human Service Studies
Psychology & Human Service Stu 129C
2337 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6460
sreid@elon.edu
more »
Janelle Rouse
Director of Collegiate Start and Collegiate Mentoring at Elon
Mooney 302L
2105 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6695
jrouse3@elon.edu
more »
Leigh-Anne Royster
Director of Inclusive Community Well-Being
Ellington He Ctr 301 S Okelly 104D
2040 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7200
lroyster@elon.edu
more »
Patrick Rudd
Coordinator of Library Instruction and Outreach and Assistant Librarian
Carol Grotnes Belk Library 118
2550 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6574
prudd@elon.edu
more »
Joan Ruelle
Dean and University Librarian
Carol Grotnes Belk Library 225B
2550 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6572
jruelle@elon.edu
more »
Faith Shearer
Associate Athletics Director and Senior Woman Administrator
Alumni Field House 239H
2500 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6790
fshearer@elon.edu
more »
Karl Sienerth
Professor of Chemistry
McMichael Science Building 325
2625 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6217
sienerth@elon.edu
more »
Evan Small
Assistant Director of the Kernodle Center for Student Programs
Moseley Center 230
2999 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7249
esmall@elon.edu
more »
Amanda Tapler
Senior Lecturer in Health and Human Performance
Koury Center (Athletics) 230
2525 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5840
atapler@elon.edu
more »
Frances Ward-Johnson
Associate Professor of Communications
McEwen - Comm. 101B
2850 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5738
fward2@elon.edu
more »
Randy Williams
Presidential Fellow and Special Assistant to the President, Dean of Multicultural Affairs
Moseley Center 221B
2985 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-7243
rwilliams32@elon.edu
more »
Susan Wise
Director of Disabilities Services and Assistant Professor
Duke 108I
2251 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6500
swise2@elon.edu
more »