PACE 2013 Highlights


On February 13, 2013, nearly 300 presidents, chancellors, faculty and staff representing  44 campuses in 10 states attended NC Campus Compact's 15th annual PACE conference at Elon University.  In addition to keynote presentations from Dr. Peter Levine and Dr. Judith Ramaley,  participants could attend 33 workshops in seven tracks including research, theory, service-learning in the disciplines, civic engagement administrators, assessment, K-16 partnerships, and civic engagement nuts and bolts.

For the Powerpoint from the workshop "Impacting Students and Communities via Service-Learning With Technology Courses" facilitated by PACE University, click here.

The full conference program is available here.

Presidents Forum

Following the opening plenary, 17 presidents and chancellors convened for a roundtable discussion on higher education’s role in building strong communities. Special guests at the forum included Dr. Judith Ramaley, President Emerita of Portland State University and a leading expert in higher education reform, and Dr. William Muse, President of the National Issues Forum and former head of the University of Akron, Auburn University, and East Carolina University. Photo: Dr. Kyle Carter, Chancellor of UNC Pembroke, speaking during the Forum.

Awards Presentation

During the morning session, three leaders in North Carolina received the following community engagement awards.

Leo M. Lambert Engaged Leader Award

Presented to Dr. Harold L. Martin, Sr., Chancellor of North Carolina A & T State University, for fostering the creation and deepening of community engagement. Click here to learn more. Photo: President Lambert presents the award to Chancellor Martin.

Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award

Presented to Dr. Rebecca Dumlao, Associate Professor of Communication at East Carolina University, for significant contributions toward furthering the practice of service-learning. Click here to learn more. Photo. Dr. Kenneth Peacock, NC Campus Compact Executive Board Chair and Chancellor of Appalachian State University, presents the award to Dr. Dumlao.

Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award

Presented to Elaine Madison of Duke University, the Associate Director for Programs and Director, Durham Programs for DukeEngage, for working towards the institutionalization of service, creating and striving towards a vision of service on campus, supporting faculty and students, and forming innovative campus-community partnerships. Click here to learn more.  Photo: Dr. Kenneth Peacock, NC Campus Compact Executive Board Chair and Chancellor of Appalachain State University presents the award to Ms. Madison.


Special thanks to Stylus Publishing  and the Institute on Philanthropy and Voluntary Service for sponsoring the conference.