Mission & History


North Carolina Campus Compact is a collaborative network of colleges and universities committed to educating students for civic and social responsibility, partnering with communities for positive change, and strengthening democracy.  The NC Campus Compact state office fosters connections between campuses, shares best practice information and resources, recognizes outstanding work, and champions civic and community engagement in higher education.  

2018-2020 Strategic Plan

Between August 2017 and January 2018 a Strategic Plan Advisory Committee convened through a series of meetings and video conferences. Members were selected to represent types of campuses, geographical distribution, level of engagement, and length of service in the network (new and seasoned). The committee engaged in different activities and explored various questions to identify a new mission and strategic plan goals.

Read the plan. 


North Carolina Campus Volunteers (NCCV) laid the foundation for NC Campus Compact.  Formed in 1993, this coalition of students and staff saw a need to unify campus volunteerism across the state. Each year they hosted a Student Conference and Service Learning Institute. NCCV merged with NC Campus Compact when it formed in 2002, and the Compact has continued to host the yearly conferences. NC Campus Compact is hosted by Elon University and guided by an Executive Board of presidents and chancellors.

Former Elon University president Leo M. Lambert served as the Executive Board Chair until 2008. Chancellor Ken Peacock, Appalachian State University, served as the Chair from 2008-2014. High Point University president, Nido Qubein, began serving as chair in July 2014 and renewed for a second three-year  term in 2017. John H. Barnhill was the founding Executive Director, followed by Dr. Lisa Keyne, who served from 2006-2014. Leslie Garvin began serving as the Executive Director in January 2015, after serving in the Interim role for five months, and as the Associate Director since 2005.

Presidents and Chancellors that join the Compact commit their institutions to becoming “engaged campuses.”  The only coalition that brings together the diverse collection of North Carolina colleges and universities around a common commitment to higher education’s civic purposes, North Carolina Campus Compact is a powerful ally in making the case for civic engagement, public service and campus-community partnerships – and for sustaining the momentum for higher education’s public service role in North Carolina.

View highlights of NC Campus Compact members in action.

National Campus Compact

When an institution joins NC Campus Compact, they join a national Compact created in 1985 by the presidents of Brown, Georgetown and Stanford Universities and the president of the Education Commission of the States. Concerned that the media was portraying college students as materialistic and self-absorbed, these leaders raised the profile of campuses promoting and encouraging student community involvement. Campus Compact now has nearly 1,000 presidents and chancellors leading engagement with their communities

In April 2016, more than 700 presidents, faculty members, administrators, and staff at Campus Compact member institutions attended the 30th anniversary conference. The three-day meeting included a presidents’ summit to implement the commitments made by 400 college and university presidents - including 28 in NC -  who signed the 30th Anniversary Action Statement.  By signing, these leaders committed to developing a Civic Action Plan to advance campus engagement.  

Pictured: NC representatives who attended the 30th Anniversary Conference in Boston (Dr. Jill Moffitt, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, UNC Asheville; Leslie Garvin, NCCC Executive Director; Pat Taft, Director, Center for Active Citizenship, Queens University of Charlotte; and Dr. Eric Mlyn, Assistant Vice Provost for Civic Engagement & Peter Lange Executive Director, DukeEngage)