Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award

The Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award recognizes a staff person at a member campus who has worked towards the institutionalization of service, fostered a vision of service on their campus, supported faculty and students, and formed innovative campus-community partnerships. The award is presented at the PACE Conference, and may be given in two categories: 1. Sustainer (5 or more years of work in the field) and 2. Emerging Leader (less than 5 years of work in the field.)

Submit a nomination for the 2019 Civic Engagement Professional of the Year!  

Call for Nominations | Submission deadline: December 14, 2018

Please note that we have eliminated the two categories (Emerging and Sustaining) and will consider all nominees in the same pool. 

2018 Civic Engagement Professionals of the Year

Emerging Leader Award: Dr. Tamara Johnson, UNC Charlotte (left)
Sustainer Award: Charlotte Williams, Lenoir-Rhyne University (right)

Read about the work of our 2018 Civic Engagement Professionals of the Year.

Past Recipients

Click on the name for a full bio.

Dr. Smith Jackson, Elon University

Sustainer: Cathy Kramer, Warren Wilson College
Emerging Leader: Kelly Misiak, Pfeiffer University

Sustainer: Dena Shonts, Central Piedmont Community College
Emerging Leader: Dr. Lane Perry, Western Carolina University

Sustainer: Dr Emily Janke, UNC Greensboro
Emerging Leader: Dr Joe Blosser, High Point University 

Elaine Madison, Duke University

Aubrey Swett, UNC Pembroke

Mary Morrison, Elon University

Jenny Huq, UNC-Chapel Hill

Emerging Leader - Julie Lawson, Peace College
Sustainer - Dr. Stacey Riemer, Davidson College
Innovator - Dr. Susan Harden, UNC Charlotte

James Shields, Guilford College

Jenny Koehn, Appalachian State University

Jason Denius, East Carolina University