The Engaged Faculty Award

The NC Campus Compact Engaged Faculty Award (previously the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award) recognizes one faculty member from a North Carolina Campus Compact member institution for exemplary engaged teaching and/or scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ community and civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and community engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.

Nominations for the 2019 award were due December 14. We will announce the winners at the 2019 PACE conference on February 13. 

2018 Engaged Faculty Award Winner

Dr. Annie Jonas, Warren Wilson College

Read more about Dr. Jonas's civic engagement work.


Between 2006 - 2017, NC Campus Compact presented the Robert L. Sigmon Service Learning Award recognizing one faculty member in the NC Campus Compact network who has made significant contributions toward furthering the practice of service-learning. The award was named in honor of Robert L. Sigmon, service-learning pioneer and North Carolina native. In 1967, along with Bill Ramsay and Wendell Russell, he coined the phrase “service-learning” to better describe the community-based internships they facilitated at the Southern Regional Education Board. In 2009, Mr. Sigmon donated his personal library and research to Elon University to create the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Collection.  In 2016, the archive was digitized and is now available online. Sigmon contributed to the publication "Where's The Wisdom in Service-Learning?" (Information Age Press, 2017) which included reflections from 10 service-learning pioneers about the current state of service-learning. 

In 2017 Sigmon expressed, to North Carolina Campus Compact, his desire that his name be removed from the award because “it is the service-learning movement in its many variations, rather than any one or two individuals who need to be recognized. The S-L language has now had a 50 year run with all kinds of frameworks added and subtracted.” To honor his wishes we have expanded the award beyond  service-learning to recognize other forms of engaged teaching and learning. We have adopted the eligibility and criterion of the national Campus Compact Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award which we believe reflects this expanded view

Sigmon also reminded us that the “the key factor in service-learning relationships is the acceptance of the potential learning for all the parties involved as well as the recognition that each can be of some service or help with the others.”  As a result we will launch a community-campus partnership award in 2019.


Click on the name to read story/bio.
Dr. David Malone, Duke University
Dr. Patricia Bricker, Western Carolina University
Mr. Travis Hicks, UNC Greensboro
Dr. Jim Cook, UNC Charlotte
Dr. Rebecca Dumlao, East Carolina University
Dr. Spoma Jovanovic, UNC Greensboro
Dr. Della Pollock, UNC Chapel Hill

Dr. Michele Gillespie, Wake Forest University

Pam Kiser, MSW, Elon University
Dr. Cheryl Brown, Greensboro College
Dr. Rachel Willis, UNC Chapel Hill

Dr. Betsy Alden, Duke University
Below you can view the video "An Invitation to Service-Learning" featuring the Sigmon winners from 2006-2011.