Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award

Presented during the PACE Conference since 2006, the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award recognizes one faculty member in the NC Campus Compact network who has made significant contributions toward furthering the practice of service-learning. The award is named in honor of Robert L. Sigmon (bio), service-learning pioneer and North Carolina native. In 2009, Mr. Sigmon donated his personal library and research to Elon University to create the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Collection.  In 2016, the archive was digitized and is now available online!

2017 Sigmon Award
Dr. David Malone
Duke University

Read more about his work.

Dr. David Malone of Duke University and Robert Sigmon. 

Candidates should possess the following:
• Significant academic service-learning experience: that includes examples of strong reciprocal campus-community partnerships and course content and service at enhance one another.
• Evidence of making community and student impact
• Evidence of institutional impact: that includes demonstrated leadership such as promoting academic service-learning on one’s campus and within higher education.
Past Recipients
Click on the name to read story/bio.
Dr. Patricia Bricker, Western Carolina University
Mr. Travis Hicks, UNC Greensboro
Dr. Jim Cook, UNC Charlotte
Dr. Rebecca Dumlao, East Carolina University
Dr. Spoma Jovanovic, UNC Greensboro
Dr. Della Pollock, UNC Chapel Hill

Dr. Michele Gillespie, Wake Forest University

Pam Kiser, MSW, Elon University
Dr. Cheryl Brown, Greensboro College
Dr. Rachel Willis, UNC Chapel Hill

Dr. Betsy Alden, Duke University
Below you can view the video "An Invitation to Service-Learning" featuring the Sigmon winners from 2006-2011.