NC Campus Compact annual awards recognize the outstanding community and civic engagement work being carried out by various individuals on our member campuses. Nominees must work at or attend a member campus.

Community Impact Award

Eligible recipients - Undergraduate students (one selected by each campus)
Criteria - Significant, innovative contributions to campus-based efforts to address community needs
Awarded - CSNAP student conference in the fall
Learn more

Marshall Alternative Service Experience Scholarship

Eligible recipients - Students attending the CSNAP Student Conference, with preference given to students who are Community Impact Award winners, who currently receive financial aid, and/or who are Active Duty, Reservist, National Guard, or Veteran or their dependent.
Criteria - Funds must be used to support individual's participation in and leadership of an alternative break experience
Awarded - CSNAP student conference in the fall
Learn more

John H. Barnhill Civic Trailblazer Award

Eligible recipients - Undergraduate student in their final year (one statewide, selected by the Compact)
Criteria - Demonstrated innovation in civic engagement and created foundations that expand partnerships amongst communities, campuses, and individuals
Awarded - CSNAP student conference in the fall
Learn more

Leo M. Lambert Engaged Leader Award

Eligible recipients - President/Chancellor of an active member campus (current Executive Board members are not eligible)
Criteria - Fostered creation and/or deepening of community engagement.  
Awarded - PACE Conference in February
Learn more

Engaged Faculty Award (formerly the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award)

Eligible recipients - Faculty member (one statewide)
Criteria - Deep, high-quality, engaged teaching and/or scholarship; Community collaboration for change; Institutional Impact
Awarded -  PACE Conference or Presidents Forum in February

Learn more   

Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award

Recipients -  Staff person (one statewide)
Criteria - Worked towards the institutionalization of service, created and strived towards a vision of service on their campus, supported faculty and students, and formed innovative campus-community partnerships
Awarded -  PACE Conference in February
Learn more

Community Partner Award (new in 2019)

Recipients - Community partner (one statewide)
Criteria - Sustained relationships with higher education institution; Reciprocity; Measurable impact has resulted from the partnership
Awarded - PACE Conference in February
Learn more

National Civic Engagement Awards

Click on the name of the award for more information.

Campus Compact

Newman Civic Fellows Award
Sponsored by Campus Compact, this award honors inspiring college student leaders who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country.

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award
Sponsored by national Campus Compact, this award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) each year. Honorees (who must be affiliated with a Campus Compact member institution) are recognized for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good. 


K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award
Sponsored by AAC&U, this award recognizes graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education; who demonstrate a commitment to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and others; and whose work reflects a strong emphasis on teaching and learning.

Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty
This award, presented by The New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE), recognizes a pre-tenure or early-career contract faculty member who connects his or her teaching, research, and service to community engagement.  

C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Award
This award, presented by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities  (APLU) and the Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC), seeks to identify colleges and universities that have redesigned their learning, discovery, and engagement functions to become even more involved with their communities. The engagement awards program consists of two awards: The Engagement Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award and the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award.

William M. Plater Award for Leadership in Civic Engagement

The Plater Award is designed to recognize the critical role of the chief academic officer in advancing the civic mission of the campus through curricular reform, public advocacy, accountability for institutional citizenship, faculty development and recruitment, and partnerships with community organizations. The recipient will receive $1,000. Candidates must have served as the chief academic officer of an AASCU member campus for at least three years.

John Saltmarsh Award for Emerging Leaders in Civic Engagement
Sponsored by the American Democracy Project, this award is given in recognition of exemplary early-career leaders who are advancing the wider civic engagement movement through higher education to build a broader public culture of democracy. Candidates must be from an AASCU institution or ADP Partner. Recipient will receive $500.

Sillerman Prize for Innovations in Philanthropy on College Campuses
The purpose of this competition is to identify innovative strategies for advancing philanthropy on University campuses.  Both the creation of programs to increase the awareness of university students about their personal philanthropy, or strategies used for developing philanthropic values which last through-out a lifetime are subjects of interest. 

Student Leadership Awards
Sponsored by the Jenzabar Foundation, this award recognizes student groups who have made a difference in the world through service and philanthropic activities, including local, national, or international activities.

Harris Wofford Awards
Presented by Youth Service America and sponsored by State Farm, this award was established recognizes a young person (ages 5 -25) who demonstrates exemplary commitment and action to involve his or her peers in service, youth voice, service-learning, or civic engagement activities.