Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship

The Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship supports the participation of college students in an alternative break program organized by a North Carolina Campus Compact member school.

According to Breakaway, a national non-profit that supports the development of high-quality alternative break programs, an alternative break (sometimes called an "alternative service experience" or ASE) is: "a trip where a group of college students engage in direct service, typically for a week. Each trip has a focus on a particular social issue, and immersion in that issue begins long before the trip itself. Students educate themselves and each other, then do hands-on work with relevant organizations." (See:

The scholarship was created in 2015 by Aaron Marshall, a former Community Impact Award and Barnhill Civic Trailblazer Award winner. During his undergraduate career at Western Carolina University, Aaron was part of 9 alternative service trips as a participant and leader. He believes strongly in the power of the “disorienting dilemma” alternative breaks present as students step out of their comfort zones. Moreover, Aaron knows firsthand how these programs provide real opportunities for student leadership. The Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship gives other students the chance to have similar transformative experiences.

The Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship (up to $250) will fund the student's participation in a future alternative break trip during the current or upcoming academic year. Selection of scholarship recipients is a competitive process.

2017 Marshall Scholarship recipient,
Asia King, NC State University (right),
with Aaron Marshall (left) and Leslie Garvin.

Read about Asia's alternative break experience!

Any CSNAP Student Conference participant may apply to receive the Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship.

Selection criteria:
* Student must be a CSNAP Student Conference participant from an NC Campus Compact member school.
* Student must plan to attend an alternative break trip in the current or upcoming academic year.
* Student must demonstrate capacity and desire to lead, facilitate, or organize a break trip at their school during a future term.

Preference will be given to students who are Community Impact Award winners, who currently receive financial aid, and/or who are Active Duty, Reservist, National Guard, or Veteran or their dependent.


Submission deadline is October 26, 2018. 

Winners will be announced at the CSNAP Conference. Scholarship recipients must show documentation of anticipated break costs and provide verification of trip participation before receiving funds.

Past Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship Winners

2016 - Yaqueline Yanez, William Peace University and DaQuane Cherry, Central Piedmont Community College

2015 - Madison Wilcox, UNC Pembroke (Read about Madison's experience.)

Questions? Please contact Chad Fogleman, 336-278-7197.