Faculty, staff and administrators are invited to attend this daylong conference that seeks to inform and advance the research and practice of community engagement by sharing research findings, innovative program design and partnership models, proven community/institutional impacts, effective curriculum or co-curricular models, institutional capacity building and institutionalization, and successful community engagement practices.  The conference usually takes place at Elon University on the first or second Wednesday in February. 

Since 2011, presidents and chancellors of NC Campus Compact member institutions have been invited to a Presidents Forum, held in conjunction with the PACE Conference.

PACE Conference Goals

• Introduce tools, research, and practice for strengthening "the engaged campus”
• Deepen understanding of community engagement, exploring diverse and newer perspectives on  theory and practice
• Highlight research and practice on related topics, including disciplinary approaches to community engagement, engaged scholarship, and demonstration of impact
• Renew commitment to build transformative campus-community partnerships
• Recognize an outstanding faculty and civic engagement administrator for their contributions to the field (see Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award and Civic Engagement Professional of the Year)

2015 PACE Conference
February 18, 2015
Elon University, Elon, NC


You can download the list of  workshops here. The complete program booklet will be posted on February 9th. Thank you to the Selection Committee for all their hard work.

2015 Selection Committee
Dr. Sharon Hodge, Elon University, Service Learning Faculty Fellow
Dr. Annette Greer, East Carolina University, Service Learning Faculty
Dr. Scott Hicks, UNC Pembroke, Service-Learning Faculty Fellow
Dr. Lesley Graybeal, Wake Technical Community College, Service-Learning Coordinator
Dr. Benjamin Tanner, Western Carolina University, Provost Fellow for Academic Community Engagement

Agenda at a Glance

7:30 a.m.  Registration and Continental Breakfast, Moseley Center lobby
9:00 a.m.

Opening session, McKinnon Hall


Keynote Address “Beyond Service and Service-Learning: Educating for Democracy in College”

Dr. Rick Battistoni, Professor of Political Science and Public and Community Service Studies, and Director of the Feinstein Institute for Public Service, at Providence College

Awards Ceremony – Facilitated by President Nido Qubein
• Leo M. Lambert Engaged Leader Award
• Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award
• The Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award

10:30 a.m. Workshop session one
11:40 a.m. Workshop session two
12:45 p.m.   Lunch and networking, McKinnon Hall
2:10 p.m. Workshop Session three
3:20 p.m.  Workshop session four
4:30 p.m. Closing session, “Reflections and Observations”
5:00 p.m.  Adjourn


Registration closes on February 8th. 

  • Campus Compact member institution (from any of the 34 CC states)
    $100 per person
  • Non-member institution
    $130 per person
Registration questions?  Contact René Summers
Note about the registration form:
The first screen on the registration homepage is for the “Registration Liaison.” This is the individual we will work with if there are any issues with the registration and/or for any payment follow-up. This is especially relevant for institutions where a staff member registers the team who is not actually attending. If you are the registration liaison for your team you will enter the info on the first page and then hit “Add Attendee(s).”  If you are the Liaison and you are also attending, then you will enter yourself again as well as the other team members.
If you are registering yourself only, you will enter your name twice - as the Registation Liaison and as an Attendee.  

Featured Speaker

Dr. Rick Battistoni

Rick Battistoni is Professor of Political Science and Public and Community Service Studies, and Director of the Feinstein Institute for Public Service, at Providence College. For over 25 years, Rick has been a leader in the field of community-based learning, especially as it relates to questions of democratic civic education and engagement, highlighted in 2013 by his receipt of the Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award. Rick also developed and directed civic engagement efforts at Rutgers and Baylor Universities. He served from 2001-2004 as director of Project 540, a national high school civic engagement initiative—including a number of North Carolina high schools—funded by a grant from The Pew Charitable Trusts.

A scholar in the field of political theory with a principal interest in the role of education in a democratic society, he is author of several publications, including Civic Engagement Across the Curriculum: A Resource Book for Faculty in all Disciplines. His most recent research involves a collaborative cross-institutional study of alumni from three leading community engagement programs, tentatively titled “Civic Identity in the Real World: How Multi-term Undergraduate Civic Engagement Programs Impact Civic Action After College.” He is also working with the Kettering Foundation on a project titled “Engaging Students as Citizens: Beyond Service Learning.”


For PACE attendees, a block of rooms is reserved for a group rate of $72 plus tax at the Best Western Plus Burlington Inn.  It is located 7 minutes/3.45 miles from Elon University. 

Best Western Plus Burlington Inn
770 Huffman Mill Rd.
Burlington, NC 27215
(336) 584-0151
Mention group code NCCHACOM


Thank you to TreeTop Commons LLC for their sponsorship of this event.  

Brief History of PACE:

1998 -  Elon University hosts first Service-Learning Institute in partnership with NC Campus Volunteers (NCCV) Coalition
2003 – NC Campus Compact becomes the conference sponsor
2004 – Name changed to Service-Learning Conference
2009 – Name changed to PACE
2011 - Inaugural Presidents Forum hosted in conjunction with PACE 

Year Keynote Speaker (s)
(Click on the year to download the conference Program Booklet)


See highlights here.

Dr. Jody Kretzmann, co-founder and co-director of the Asset-Based Community Development (ABCD) Institute, Northwestern University
Dr. Barbara Holland, Researcher and Consultant

Held at UNC Wilmington


See highlights here.

Dr. Peter Levine, Lincoln Filene Professor of Citizenship & Public Affairs,   Jonathan Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service, Tufts University and Director, CIRCLE, The Center for Information and Research on Civic Learning and Engagement

Dr. Judith Ramaley, President Emerita and Distinguished Professor of Public Service, Portland State University and President Emerita, Winona State University


Special 10th year Anniversary event (see highlights here)

Dr. Caryn McTighe Musil, Association of American Colleges and Universities
President Mark Gearan, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Chancellor Nancy Cantor, Syracuse University

2011 Nicole Gallant, Director, Learn & Serve America, Corporation for National & Community Service
2010 Dr. Robert W. Franco, Kapi'olani Community College, University of Hawai'i
Robert L. Sigmon, Service-Learning pioneer
2009 Jamie Merisotis, Lumina Foundation for Education
2008 Dr. Kenneth Reardon, Cornell University
2007 Dr. Barbara Holland, Director, Service-Learning Clearinghouse
2006 Dr. Janet Eyler, Vanderbilt University
2005 Dr. Edward Zlotkowski, Bentley College & Senior Faculty Fellow, Campus Compact
James Williams, Student Engaged Scholar, Campus Compact
2004 Dr. Barbara Jacoby, University of Maryland - College Park
2003 Alice-Anne Kern A.K. Powe Elementary School in Durham
Dr. Rosalind R. Reichard , VP for Academic Affairs, Meredith College
Dr. Norman Clark, Appalachian State University
Darris Means, student leader, Elon University

For questions related to PACE, contact Leslie Garvin, Interim Executive Director.