Fall 2017 Calendar

    DATE

Add to Calendar

EVENT

Mon.-Mon. August 21-28 Planning Week
Friday, September 1 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, September 1 Faculty Meeting at 3:00 p.m.
Friday, September 8 Organization Fair 4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Young Commons
Monday,  September 12 Eid al-Adha (Muslim). Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. Begins the evening of Sunday, September 11.
Thursday, September 14 Call to Honor Ceremony (Held in Alumni Gym at 9:40 a.m; classes end at 9:20 a.m.)
Friday, September 15 Application deadline for Reassigned Time Fellowships (FR&D), CATL Scholars, and Reassigned Times (Department/Dean)
Wednesday, September 20 Baird Lecture Series with Siddhartha Mukherjee
Thur.-Fri., Sept. 21-22 Rosh Hashanah (Jewish). Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins the evening of Thursday, September 21. (The majority of Elon students observe the holiday only for the first day, which begins at sundown on 9/21 and lasts until after nightfall on 9/22.)
Fri.-Sat., Sept. 29-30 Yom Kippur (Jewish). Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. Begins at 5 p.m. on September 29.
Monday, October 2 Application deadline for FY/FP One-Year Sabbatical (FR&D) and Senior Faculty Research Fellowships
Thursday, October 5 Elon University Fall Convocation with Former British Prime Minister David Cameron. Alumni Gym at 3:30 p.m.
Thur.-Fri., Oct. 5-6 Sukkot (Jewish) Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins the evening of October 5. 
Friday, October 6 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, October 6 Town Hall Forums at 3:00 p.m.
Fri.-Sun., October 6-8 Family Weekend. Parent Professor Meetings 9:30 a.m.-11:15 a.m. Mini Courses for parents 11:30 a.m.-12:15 p.m.
Monday, October 10 CATL Teaching and Learning grant deadline
Thur.-Fri., Oct. 12-13 Shmini Atzeret and Simchat Torah (Jewish). Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. Shemini Atzeret begins at sunset the evening of Thursday, October 12. Simchat Torah follows without a break and ends after sundown on October 13.
Friday, October 13 FR&D Sabbatical application deadline
Tuesday, October 31Application deadline for FR&D Grants (non-sabbatical requests)
Friday, November 3 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, November 3 University Faculty Meeting at 3:00 p.m.
Fri.-Sun., Nov. 3-5  Homecoming Weekend 
Friday, November 17Thanksgiving Holiday begins following evening classes
Monday, November 27Thanksgiving Holiday ends at 8:00 a.m.
Friday, December 1 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, December 1 University Faculty Meeting at 3:00 p.m.

Looking for more information/dates/deadlines? Click the links below! 

Academic Calendar - Undergraduate  Admissions Deadlines  Athletics Calendar  Cultural Calendar  
Religious & Spiritual Life Calendar  University Calendar