Fall 2016 Calendar

    DATE

Add to Calendar

EVENT

Mon.- Fri. August 22-29 Planning Week
Mon., August 29 - Tues., Sept. 6 Drop/Add period
Tuesday, August 30 Classes begin 
Friday, September 2 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, September 2 Faculty Meeting at 3:00 p.m.
Friday, September 9 Organization Fair 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Young Commons
Monday,  September 12   Eid al-Adha (Muslim).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. Begins the evening of Sunday, September 11.
Thursday, September 15 Call to Honor Ceremony (Held in Alumni Gym at 9:40 a.m; classes end at 9:30 a.m.)
Wed.- Fri., September   
Friday, September Application deadline for Reassigned Time Fellowships (FR&D), CATL Scholars, and Reassigned Times (Department/Dean)
Tues. - Wed.,  September  Yom Kippur (Judaism). Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins at 5:00 on 9/22 and ends an hour after sundown on 9/23.
Thursday, September 29    Elon University Fall Convocation with Bob Woodward.  Alumni Gym at 3:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 1   Family Weekend.  Parent Professor Meetings  9:30 - 11:00 a.m. // Mini Courses for parents 11:30 - 12:15. //  Activities for Family Weekend are scheduled 9/30-10/2
Monday - Tuesday, October 3 & 4   Rosh Hashanah (Judaism).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins the evening of Sunday, October 2. (The majority of Elon students observe the holiday only for the first day, which begins at sundown on 10/2 and lasts until after nightfall on 10/3.)
Tuesday, October 4 The Baird Pulitzer Prize Lecture:  "An Evening with Kathleen Parker" with Kathleen Parker, in McCrary Theatre, at 7:30
Thursday, October  Application deadline for FY/FP One-Year Sabbatical (FR&D) and Senior Faculty Research Fellowships
Friday, October 7   Campus Conversation at 1:40
Friday, October 7 Town Hall Forums at 3:00
Saturday, October 8   Explore Elon - Admissions event
Monday, October  CATL Teaching and Learning grant deadline
Tues. - Wed., October 11-12   Yom Kippur (Jewish).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday.  Begins at 5 p.m. on October 11.
Friday, October 14 Mid-Semester grades due by 3:00 p.m.
Friday, October 14Fall Break begins following afternoon classes
Mon. - Tues., October 17-18   Sukkot (Jewish)  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins the evening of October 16.
Wednesday, October 19Fall Break ends at 8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, October 19 Mid-Semester classes begin
Friday, October 21 Last day to withdraw from a course with "W" 
Friday, October  FR&D Sabbatical application deadline
Fri.- Sun., October 21-23 Homecoming weekend
Mon. - Tues. October 24 -25   Shmini Atzeret and Simchat Torah (Jewish).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. Shemini Atzeret begins at sunset the evening of Sunday, October 23.  Simchat Torah follows without a break and ends after sundown on October 25.
Monday, October 31Last day to remove Incomplete "I" and "NR" grades
Monday, November Application deadline for FR&D Grants (non-sabbatical requests)
Thursday, November 10 Registration begins for Winter and Spring 2016
Friday, November 4 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, November 4 University Faculty Meeting at 3:00
Friday, November 18Thanksgiving Holiday begins following evening classes
Monday, November 28Thanksgiving Holiday ends at 8:00 a.m.
Friday, December 2 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, December 2 University Faculty Meeting at 3:00 p.m.
Friday, December 9 Classes end
Saturday, December 10Reading Day 
Mon. - Fri., December 12-16 FInal Exams
Monday, December 20Grades due by 12:00 p.m.

Looking for more information/dates/deadlines? Click the links below! 

Religious Life Calendar   Campus Calendar  Cultural Calendar  Admissions Deadlines  
Athletics Calendar