Fall 2015 Calendar

    DATE

Add to Calendar

EVENT

Mon.- Fri. August 17-21 Planning Week
Mon. - Mon., August 24-31 Drop/Add period
Tuesday, August 25 Classes begin 
Friday, September 4 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, September 4 Faculty Meeting at 3:00 p.m.
Friday, September 4 Organization Fair 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Young Commons
Thursday, September 10 Call to Honor Ceremony (Held in Academic Village at 9:40 a.m; classes end at 9:30 a.m.)
Wed.- Fri., September 13-15 Rosh Hashanah (Judaism).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins at sundown the evening of 9/13 and ends an hour after sundown on 9/15. (The majority of Elon students observe the holiday only from sundown on  9/14)
Friday, September 18 Application deadline for Reassigned Time Fellowships (FR&D), CATL Scholars, and Reassigned Times (Department/Dean)
Tues. - Wed.,  September 22-23 Yom Kippur (Judaism). Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins at 5:00 on 9/22 and ends an hour after sundown on 9/23.
Tues. - Wed.,  September 22-23 Eid al-Adha (Islam).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. Begins at sundown on 9/22 and ends at sundown on 9/23.
Thursday, September 24 The Baird Pulitzer Prize Lecture:  "Race in America" with Leonard Pitts, Jr., in McCrary Theatre, at 7:00
Saturday, September 26 Family Weekend.  Parent Professor Meetings  9:30 - 11:00 a.m. // Mini Courses for parents 11:30 - 12:15. //  Activities for Family Weekend are scheduled 9/25-9/27
Sun. - Tues. September 27-29 Sukkot (Judaism)  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins at sunset the evening of 9/27 and ends an hour after sundown on 9/29.
Thursday, October 1 Application deadline for FY/FP One-Year Sabbatical (FR&D) and Senior Faculty Research Fellowships
Friday, October 2 Town Hall Forums at 3:00
Sun. - Mon., October 4-5 Shmini Atzeret (Judaism).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins at sunset the evening of 10/4 and ends on 10/5.
Monday, October 5 CATL Teaching and Learning grant deadline
Tuesday, October 6 Simchat Torah (Judaism).  Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. Ends an hour after sundown on 10/6.
Tuesday, October 6 Fall Convocation:  A Conversation with Itzhak Perlman, in Alumni Gym, at 3:30 p.m.
Friday, October 9 Mid-Semester grades due by 3:00 p.m.
Friday, October 9Fall Break begins following afternoon classes
Wednesday, October 14Fall Break ends at 8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, October 14 Mid-Semester classes begin
Friday, October 16 Last day to withdraw from a course with "W" 
Friday, October 16 FR&D Sabbatical application deadline
Fri.- Sun., October 16-18 Homecoming weekend
Monday, October 26Last day to remove Incomplete "I" and "NR" grades
Monday, November 2Application deadline for FR&D Grants (non-sabbatical requests)
Thursday, November 5 Registration begins for Winter and Spring 2016
Friday, November 6 Explore Elon - Admissions event
Friday, November 6 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, November 6 University Faculty Meeting at 3:00
Tues. - Wed. November 10 - 11 Diwali (Hinduism) Approved by the University as an excused absence holiday. The holiday begins at sundown on 11/10 and ends at sundown on 11/11.
Friday, November 20Thanksgiving Holiday begins following evening classes
Monday, November 30Thanksgiving Holiday ends at 8:00 a.m.
Friday, December 4 Campus Conversation at 1:40 p.m.
Friday, December 4 University Faculty Meeting at 3:00 p.m.
Friday, December 4 Classes end
Saturday, December 5Reading Day 
Mon. - Fri., December 7-11 FInal Exams
Monday, December 14Grades due by 12:00 p.m.

Looking for more information/dates/deadlines? Click the links below! 

Religious Life Calendar   Campus Calendar  Cultural Calendar  Admissions Deadlines  
Athletics Calendar