Fall 2009 Speakers  

Anya Kamenetz
"What's the Economy For?"

Thursday, September 10
Whitley Auditorium, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

John Owen
"Global Journalism: Ignoring the World at Your Peril"

Tuesday, September 15
LaRose Digital Theatre, Koury Business Center, 4:15 p.m.

~ ~ ~

William H. Schlesinger
"Human Impacts on Global Nitrogen: The Next Big Problem?"

Wednesday, September 16
McCrary Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

C.K. Williams
"Poems Old and New"

Tuesday, September 22
McCrary Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

Rick Halperin
"The Death Penalty in the USA: Current Trends and Realities"

Thursday, September 24
LaRose Digital Theatre, Koury Business Center, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

 

Orville Schell
"The Importance of China to the U.S.: From Climate Change, Trade to the U.S. Debt"

Wednesday, September 30
McCrary Theatre, 7:30 p.m.
 

~ ~ ~

Giovanna Negretti
"The Importance of Political Engagement"

Monday, October 5
Whitley Auditorium, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

Thorpe Moeckel, poetry reading

Tuesday, October 6
Yeager Recital Hall, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

Elon University Fall Convocation
with Khaled Hosseini

Tuesday, October 13
Alumni Gym, Koury Athletic Center, 4 p.m.

~ ~ ~

 

Patrick Cook-Deegan
"Cycle for Schools"

Thursday, October 22
LaRose Digital Theatre, Koury Business Center, 7:30 p.m.
 

~ ~ ~

 


Rebecca Brown
"India's Modern Antiquity:
An Unreadable Text, a New Ruin, and the Question of Modernity after 1947"

Monday, October 26
 Yeager Recital Hall, 6 p.m.

~ ~ ~

Dr. Kimberly Jones
"Environmental Nonotechnology:
Discerning the Influence of Nanomaterials in Our World"

Monday, November 9
McCrary Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

Mike Yankoski
 "Under the Overpass"

Wednesday, November 18
LaRose Digital Theatre, Koury Business Center, 7:30 p.m.

~ ~ ~

Dee Dee Myers
The Isabella Cannon Distinguished Visiting Professor of Leadership

Thursday, January 8
Tuesday, January 19
McCrary Theatre, 7:30 p.m.