Hilaire Pickett ’08 Leadership Grants

Hilaire Pickett ’08 Leadership Grants will be awarded to two students in the Leadership Education and Development (LEAD) Program. Awards will be granted through an application process, overseen by the Director of the Center for Leadership. Grants will support students in their junior or senior years to pursue leadership internships or legacy efforts. Preference will be given to Isabella Cannon Leadership Fellows. The students must demonstrate significant commitment to their organization and academics, and be active in contributions that have had a positive impact on the Elon community. This should be evident by sustained and progressive involvement and exemplary membership in the LEAD Program.

To Apply

Students must submit a grant proposal to the Director of the Center for Leadership by Friday, April 4, 2014. The essay should describe the proposed project, explain its relevance to the student’s goals, make a compelling case for funding, and list any other funding sources sought. Applications should include two letters of support, one from an Elon faculty member and the second from either a faculty or staff member with whom the student has discussed their project. 

Proposals will be judged on the following factors:  creativity; originality; depth; and demonstration of positive and sustained impact on the organization, and larger community.  Financial need is not a requirement but may be taken into consideration.  The students must be in good standing with the program and the university. The top 5 candidates chosen by the selection committee will be invited to make a short presentation about their project in early April.

The award is presented annually at the ODK Awards Ceremony and the spring Cannon Celebration.

This is an endowed scholarship through an outright gift of the Pickett Family. A $1,350 amount will be awarded to two juniors or seniors annually. The scholarship will be credited to the students account as tuition aid so that it is not taxable.  A report of all expenses and a copy of receipts should be included in the grant report.

Selection Committee

Director of the Center for Leadership
Associate Dean of Students
Leadership Faculty Fellow
One staff member


A brief 15-minute interview will be conducted for selected applicants.

Three names will be recommended to the donor for review, and the committee will then make final recommendations to the Director of Center for Leadership program.

Please contact the Center for Leadership or x5323 with any questions.