Residence Life

Important Dates

Summer 2017  
May 31 (Wednesday) Summer Session 1 check-in noon-3pm
June 1 (Thursday) First Day of Summer Session 1 classes
June 15 (Thursday) Apartment check-in (Oaks, Station, Danieley Apartments) 8am-5pm
June 26 (Monday) Bills post via Ebill
June 30 (Friday) Summer Session 1 check-out by noon
July 5 (Wednesday) Summer Session 2 check-in noon-3pm
July 6 (Thursday) First Day of Summer Session 2 classes
July 26 (Wednesday) First-year/transfer assignments emailed via Elon email address
July 28 (Friday) Summer Session 2 check-out by 5pm
Fall 2017  
August 7 (Monday) Early Arrivals Start
August 25 (Friday) New Student Check-In Day
August 26 (Saturday) Returning students check into res halls (9am - 5pm) Call the neighborhood on-call number after 5pm
August 27 (Sunday) Returning students check into res halls starting at 9am
August 29 (Tuesday) Classes Begin
September 11-15 Health and Safety Inspections
September 12 (Tuesday) Room Change Day
October 13 (Friday) Fall Break Begins
October 18 (Wednesday) Fall Break Ends
November 3-5 Homecoming
November 13-17 Health and Safety Inspections
November 19 (Sunday) Halls close @ 10 am for Thanksgiving; Meal plans cannot be used during break
November 26 (Sunday) Halls reopen @ 10 am
December 7 (Thursday) Fall term classes end; 24 HOUR QUIET HOURS BEGIN @ 7PM
December 15 (Friday) Halls close @ 10 am for winter break; Meal plans cannot be used during break; Health and Safety Inspections
Winter 2018  
January 1 (Monday) Hall reopen @ 10am
January 3 (Wednesday) Classes Begin
January 15 (Monday) MLK Holiday
January 22 (Monday) Winter Term Classes End; 24 HOUR QUIET HOURS BEGIN @ 7PM
January 23 (Tuesday) Winter Term Examinations
January 24-29 Fake Break; Halls do not close; Meal plans cannot be used during break
Spring 2018  
January 27 (Saturday) Halls open for new student check-in 8:30am-5pm; only newly admitted students can move in during this time
January 28 (Sunday) Halls open for returning students 10am (students returning from abroad, off campus, etc)
January 29 (Monday) Classes begin
March 17 (Saturday) Halls close @ 10 am for Spring Break;Meal plans cannot be used during break; Health and Safety Inspections
March 25 (Sunday) Halls reopen @ 10am
April 2 (Monday) Easter Monday (University Closed)
May 8 (Tuesday) Spring Term Classes End; 24 HOUR QUIET HOURS BEGIN @ 7PM
May 16 (Wednesday) Halls close @ 10 am for ALL residents (except Seniors & those assisting w/ commencement
May 19 (Saturday) Commencement - Seniors depart residence halls by 2 pm
May 31 (Thursday) Apartment Closing at 10 am