Substance Education Banner

University Alcohol and Other Drug Policies

Alcohol and Other Drug Policies in Residence Halls

The responsible, private use of alcoholic beverages by persons 21 years of age and older is permitted in the residence. Students may not have more than the equivalent of 12 drinks per number of legal age residents in campus housing; one drink is a 12 ounce beer, 4 ounce glass of wine or 2 ounces of liquor.  All use of alcohol is subject to restrictions of state law, University policy, and all other policies in the student handbook. The student shall not manufacture, sell, deliver, possess, use or be under the influence of a controlled substance without legal authorization.  A controlled substance includes any drug, substance or immediate precursor covered under the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act, including but not limited to opiates, barbiturates, amphetamines, marijuana, hallucinogens, and prescribed controlled substances.  The possession of drug paraphernalia is also prohibited.  Drug paraphernalia includes all equipment, products and material of any kind that are used to facilitate, or intended or designed to facilitate, violations of the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act.

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND POLICIES (2011.1)

Innocent Bystander Policy

Elon understands and supports students being social and wanting to spend time with each other. This may lead to situations where underage students are in the presence of alcohol possession and/or use that violates university policy. In order to hold the responsible students accountable, while supporting those who are not violating policies, the Innocent Bystander Policy may be enacted at the time alcohol policy violations are identified. Students in the presence of alcohol policy violations will not be charged with an alcohol policy violation if either of the following is included in the Incident Report:

(a) there is no physical indication the student has been drinking (slurred speech, odor of alcohol, bloodshot eyes, etc.), and a reasonable number of students take responsibility and attest the student is not in violation, or
(b) the student requests and passes an "Alco-Sensor" test at the time of the incident.

Please note that the Innocent Bystander Policy does not apply to other drug use. This means that if you are in a room or at a party that includes other drug use, you risk sanctions.


2011.1.1 Possession and/or Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages by Students Under 21 Years of Age


Definition - possession and/or consumption of alcoholic beverages by any student on or off-campus or returning to campus after consuming by a student less than 21 years of age.   (At this level there are not visible signs of intoxication.)  Note:  Possession of empty beverage containers or packaging may be considered evidence of possession or consumption of alcohol.

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and official reprimand; $50 fine, and Alcohol Education Program or Project. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.) [Note: If there are no additional Code of Conduct violations during the following calendar year, the reprimand is removed from the student's record.]
Second Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and official warning; $150 fine, 10campus restitution hours, Alcohol Education Program or Project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Third Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and disciplinary probation; $300 fine, 20 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Fourth Offense - normally, preliminary suspension or disciplinary suspension; $300 fine, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)

2011.1.2 Being Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages


Definition - a person who, having consumed alcoholic beverages, exhibits signs of intoxication and/or experiences any loss of the normal use of his/her mental and/or physical faculties. Examples include but are not limited to:  slurred speech, vomiting, stumbling or needing assistance walking, loss of motor coordination, aggression, brief loss of memory, or abusive behavior.

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and disciplinary probation; $150 fine, 15 campus restitution hours, Alcohol Education Program or Project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and preliminary suspension or disciplinary suspension; $300 fine, 30 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Third Offense - normally, disciplinary suspension for one year.

2011.1.3 Extreme Intoxication

Definition - a person who, having consumed alcoholic beverages, exhibits signs of significant and/or dangerous intoxication. Examples include but are not limited to: blacked out, loss of consciousness or limited responsiveness, no withdrawal from painful stimuli, loss of bladder/bowel functions, excessive vomiting, or severe physical depression (slow or shallow breathing, pale or blue-tinged skin, or reduced heart rate). 

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than preliminary suspension with possible disciplinary suspension for one year; $150 to $300 fine, 15 campus restitution hours and restitution, educational program or project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.
Second Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension with possible permanent separation; $200 to $400 fine, 25 campus restitution hours and restitution, educational program or project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.
Third Offense - normally, not less than permanent separation.

2011.1.4 Rapid Consumption of Alcohol or Actions that May Endanger the Well-being of Self or Others

Definition - any form of rapid consumption of alcohol or participation in drinking games which may create a risk of danger to self, others or the university community.  Examples include but are not limited to: bongs, shots, keg stands, beer pong, flip cup, etc.

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary probation with possible disciplinary suspension for one year; $150 to $300 fine, 15 campus restitution hours and restitution, educational program or project, Substance Abuse Assessment and completion of recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter.
Second Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension with possible permanent separation; $200 to $400 fine, 25 campus restitution hours and restitution, educational program or project, Substance Abuse Assessment and completion of recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter.
Third Offense - normally, not less than permanent separation.

2011.1.5 Public Consumption and/or Possession of Alcohol

Definition - possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages is allowed by students who are 21 years of age or older only in their residence or an approved location. Alcohol is not allowed in non-residential buildings or outdoors, except for events where alcohol use has been formally approved.

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and official reprimand; $50 fine, and Alcohol Education Program or Project. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and official warning; $150 fine, 20 campus restitution hours, Alcohol Education Program or Project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Third Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of and disciplinary probation or preliminary suspension; $200 fine, 30 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Fourth Offense - normally, disciplinary suspension for one year.

2011.1.6 Provision and/or Distribution of Alcohol to Students Under 21 Years of Age

Definition - By an individual - any person purchasing, providing or distributing alcohol to any individual below the age of 21 years.
Definition - By an organization - any organization that purchases, provides or distributes alcohol to any individual below the age of 21 years.

Sanctions- for an individual:
First Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary probation or preliminary suspension with possible permanent separation; $200 fine, 25 campus restitution hours, Alcohol Education Program or Project, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension for one year with possible permanent separation and $300 fine; Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.  If student is suspended, results and documentation of compliance with recommendations must be forwarded to Elon for consideration for re-admittance.  (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)

Sanctions - By an organization (within a four-year period):
First Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed, loss of specific social privileges for up to one academic year, $200 fine, 20 restitution hours per member present at event, and Education Program or Project with possible loss of university housing and/or recognition for one year. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than loss of university housing and/or recognition for one year with possible permanent loss of university recognition.

2011.1.7 Sponsorship of an Activity Involving the Unauthorized use of Alcoholic Beverages by Individuals, Residential communities, or University-Recognized Organizations

Definition - sponsorship of any activity or event involving the use of alcoholic beverages without specific university approval to do so, said sponsorship being carried out by a residence hall floor/suite/apartment, or organizations.

Sanctions - for individuals:
First Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed, disciplinary probation with possible disciplinary suspension; $200 fine, 40 campus restitution hours, and Alcohol Education Program or Project. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than preliminary suspension with possible disciplinary suspension; $300 fine; Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.  If student is suspended, results and documentation of compliance with recommendations must be forwarded to Elon for consideration for re-admittance.  (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)

Sanctions - for residential areas or Organizations (within a four-year period):
First Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of, loss of specific social privileges, $200 fine, campus restitution hours and probationary status, with possible suspension of social privileges and/or university recognition for one academic year. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than loss of university housing and/or recognition for one year with possible permanent loss of university recognition.

2011.1.8 Possession of a Keg, Common Alcohol Beverage Container or Excessive Amounts of Alcohol on University-Owned Property or by a Student Organization on or off the Campus


Definition - possession and/or consumption of a keg or any common container containing alcohol or any alcohol beverage container of more than 32 fluid ounces, including party balls, pony kegs and other bulk containers. This includes kegs and multi-serving containers that are empty. Students may not have more than the equivalent of 12 drinks per number of legal age residents in campus housing; one drink is a 12 ounce beer, 4 ounce glass of wine or 2 ounces of liquor.
NOTE: As with all other alcohol violations, kegs and multi-serving containers that are confiscated will not be returned to the student and all claims to deposit refunds are forfeited.

Sanctions - for individuals:
First Offense - normally, not less than container confiscated and disposed of; disciplinary probation with possible disciplinary suspension; $200 fine, 40 campus restitution hours, Alcohol Education Program or Project. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than preliminary suspension with possible disciplinary suspension for one year; $300 fine; Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.  If student is suspended, results and documentation of compliance with recommendations must be forwarded to Elon for consideration for re-admittance. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)

Sanctions - for residential areas or Organizations (within a four-year period):
First Offense - normally, not less than alcohol confiscated and disposed of, loss of specific social privileges, $200 fine, campus restitution hours and probationary status for up to one academic year, with possible suspension of social privileges and/or university recognition for one academic year. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than loss of university housing and/or recognition for one year with permanent loss of university recognition.

2011.1.9 Alcohol-related vehicular violations

Definition - any operation of a motor vehicle during or following consumption of alcohol that creates a risk of danger to self, others or the university community.

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than preliminary suspension with possible disciplinary suspension for one year; $150 to $300 fine, 15 campus restitution hours and restitution, educational program or project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.
Second Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension for one year with possible permanent separation; $200 to $400 fine, 25 campus restitution hours and restitution, educational program or project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.
Third Offense - normally, not less than permanent separation.

DRUG POLICIES (2011.8)

Elon University is committed to the intellectual and personal development of students. Substance misuse inhibits students' development and is negatively correlated with academic success and personal safety.  Sale or distribution of illegal or controlled substances or for uses not as intended creates a significant danger for the Elon University community. 

Elon University observes and strictly enforces all local, state and federal laws related to possession, use, sale or distribution of controlled or illegal substances.  Individuals who are involved in any drug-related violation are subject to criminal action, as the university may report these individuals to the legal authorities. Students convicted of any offense involving the possession or sale of a controlled substance may also be deemed ineligible to receive Financial Aid.

Students are accountable for upholding Elon drug policies even when in states or countries in which certain drugs have been decriminalized. 

Though some impairing substances may be legal to purchase in North Carolina or other states, Elon University prohibits possession and/or use of these substances by Elon Students.  Students are responsible for knowing and understanding the university drug policy.

2011.8.1 Use or Possession of Controlled, Illegal or Prohibited Substances

Definition – any possession or use of controlled, prohibited, or illegal substances or use of (or intent to use) substances for purposes or in manners not as directed.  Examples include but are not limited to:  possession or use of illegal substances; possession or use of prescription drugs without a valid/current medical prescription; use of prescribed medication not as directed (over-use, snorting prescribed medication, etc.); huffing, snorting, smoking or otherwise possessing or using legal substances not as intended.  Substances such as JWH-018 (K2, “Spice”), salvia and pyrovalerone derivatives (found in substances marketed as “bath salts”) are not intended for human consumption and are prohibited for possession or use by any Elon student. 

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than preliminary suspension with possible permanent separation (depending on type/amount of prohibited substance); $200 fine, 25 restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension for one year with possible permanent separation; $200 to $400 fine, 25 campus restitution hours and restitution, educational program or project, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations.

2011.8.2 Distribution or sale or prohibited, controlled or illegal substances

Definition - any sale or distribution (including distribution without financial gain) of controlled or illegal substances or any substances prohibited by the Elon University Drug Policy.  This includes sharing of prescription medication. 

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension for at least one full year with possible permanent separation from the university (depending on type/amount of prohibited substance); $300-$400 fine, 50 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment and compliance with recommendations and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than permanent separation.

2011.8.3 Possession of Drug Paraphernalia

Definition - possession and/or use of drug paraphernalia, including, but not limited to, roach clips, bongs, hookahs, blow tubes, papers, scales or any material or apparatus containing drug residue.

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than preliminary suspension with possible disciplinary suspension; $100 fine, 15 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension with possible permanent separation; $200 fine, 25 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment and parent/guardian notification letter.  (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Third Offense - normally, not less than permanent separation.

2011.8.4 Accessory to Drug Use, Possession or Sale

Definition - being in the presence of or aiding and abetting the possession, sale or use of prohibited, controlled or illegal substances.

Sanctions
First Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary probation with possible permanent separation; $150 fine, 15 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment, and parent/guardian notification letter. (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)
Second Offense - normally, not less than disciplinary suspension with possible permanent separation; $300 fine, 25 campus restitution hours, Substance Abuse Assessment and parent/guardian notification letter.  (Fine doubles if not paid within 5 days.)