Photo of Jonathan Poquette

Jonathan Poquette

Director of Bands; Lecturer of Music: Jonathan Poquette is Director of Bands and Lecturer of Music at Elon University, where he serves as conductor for the “Phoenix Winds” wind ensemble, director of the Fire of the Carolina’s Marching Band and Basketball Pep Band, and administers the entire Elon bands program. As an avid instrumental music conductor and chamber ensemble enthusiast, Poquette earned his Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Georgia’s Hugh Hodgson School of Music. He also holds music degrees from the University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg, MO: MA – Conducting) and Southern Illinois University (Carbondale, IL: BM Music Education). His primary conducting teachers include Cynthia Johnston Turner of the University of Georgia, Scott Lubaroff of the University of Central Florida, and Andrew Mast of Lawrence University.

After earning his Bachelor of Music Degree in Music Education from SIUC in 2010, where he was a Presser Scholar, Poquette taught instrumental music at the middle and high school levels in Illinois and Wisconsin for four years, dramatically growing each program in size and quality. Professionally, Poquette is a member of College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA), National Association for Music Education (NAfME), and Pi Kappa Lambda, Music Honor Society.

Poquette’s research interests include the evolution of wind band throughout history, twenty-first century audience engagement strategies, and evaluations of wind band repertoire.

Assistant Director of Bands


J. Ben Jones is Assistant Director of Bands at Elon University and is in his second year of the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Instrumental Conducting at the University of North Carolina Greensboro. Prior to his graduate studies, Ben taught in the public school system of North Carolina as the Director of Bands at Ashbrook High School in Gastonia, where he oversaw marching and concert bands and collaborative efforts within the community. An advocate for music education and building leaders in school music programs, Ben has presented leadership training workshops, worked with young music educators, adjudicated, and served as a guest clinician for many band programs around the Carolinas.

While at UNCG, Ben has served as the principal conductor of the University Band and was the co-conductor of the Symphonic Band during the 2018–19 school year. He has been a frequent guest conductor with the Wind Ensemble, Casella Sinfonietta, and has served as an instructor in undergraduate instrumental conducting.

2019 Color Guard and Drum Line Instructors

Amber ThomasAmber Smith

Amber Smith started her color guard career during high school and after graduating she continued building her talents by competing for four seasons with Carolina Visual Productions Winterguard. Following her age out year of Independent A Class, Amber went on to spin with First Flight Independent World Winterguard for two seasons. During those two summers, she also performed with DCA’s Carolina Gold Drum and Bugle Corps and for two years Amber was a member of the Marching Tarheels at UNC-Chapel Hill. Accomplishments include: WGI Independent A Finalist, two-time WGI Independent World Finalist, DCA Class A Champion with two-time Best Color guard. Amber currently helps instruct Carolina Visual Productions Winterguard, the Elon marching band’s color guard, and works as a Registered Nurse.


Volunteer Staff

  • Tim Wood
  • Greg Piel
  • Michael Smith

Feature Twirler

  • Jill Ford

Student Leadership team

Drum Majors

  • Jenna Dahl
  • Mallory Poff
  • Connor Simpson

Band Captains

  • Nicole Schapowal, woodwinds
  • Nathan Miller, brass
  • Sara Mason, percussion

Section Leaders

  • Anne Williams, piccolo
  • Megan Gillogly, clarinet
  • Spencer Buehlman and Brad Newton, saxophone
  • Ben Hawkins and Julianne Jerak, trumpet
  • TBD, mellophone
  • Clara Mueller, low brass
  • Jackson Web, drumline
  • Paige Graham, front ensemble
  • TBD, color guard

Social Media Coordinators/Webmasters

  • Jill Ford, Clara Mueller, and Andrew Zagari

Student Program Assistants

  • Julie Averette
  • Kayla Randall

Uniform Committee

  • Jessica Bridges
  • Melanie Ferguson
  • Julianne Jarek

Band Librarians

  • Kayla Randall
  • Nic Hayes
  • Julianne Jarek

Woodwind Faculty

Brass Faculty

Percussion Faculty