Fall Term  |  Winter Term  |  Spring Term  |  Summer Session I  |  Summer Session II

Day

Date

Event

 

Fall Term 2019

Thursday August 15 Annual Teaching and Learning Conference — New faculty are especially encouraged to attend. This is a great place to meet new colleagues and to think about engaged learning. The conference usually attracts participants from 20+ area colleges and universities.
Monday – Friday August 19-23 Planning Week — You will attend university-wide, school-based, and departmental meetings this week, starting with the President’s message Monday, followed by a community lunch.
Tuesday August 20 New Full-Time Faculty Orientation, 9:00am-3:00pm — Belk Pavilion (not Belk Library) rooms 200, 201, 208
Tuesday August 20 New Part-Time Faculty Orientation, 3:15-4:45pm — Global Commons 301
Wednesday August 21 Elon’s HR session for all new faculty, 8:00-11:00 am, in the Isabella Cannon Room of the Center for the Arts. Questions? Please call 336.278.5560.
Saturday August 24 New Student Convocation, 9:00am — All faculty attend wearing academic regalia
Tuesday August 27 Classes begin
Friday September 6 University-wide faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday September 13 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208 – Creating an inclusive classroom for learning
Saturday – Sunday September 28-29 Family Weekend — Faculty meet parents Saturday morning
Friday October 4 Town hall faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday October 11 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208 – Providing academic challenge and support
Monday October 14 Mid-semester assessments due at 3:00pm
Wednesday – Monday October 16-21 Fall break (Begins following afternoon classes on Wednesday. Ends 8am Monday.)
Friday November 1 University-wide faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday November 8 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208 – Developing plans for inquiry, scholarship & mentoring
Friday – Sunday November 22 – December 1 Thanksgiving break (Begins following evening classes on Friday. University closed Thursday and Friday.)
Friday December 6 University-wide faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday December 6 Last day of classes
Saturday December 7 Reading Day
Monday December 9 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 11:30am-1:00pm in Belk Pavilion 208 – Writing your Unit 1 self-evaluation
Monday – Friday December 9-13 Final exams (Access the exam schedule on OnTrack.)
Tuesday December 17 Grades due at 12:00pm
Saturday-Sunday Dec 21-29 Winter holiday (university closed)
Wednesday January 1 New Year’s Day holiday (university closed)
Back to top
 

Winter Term 2020

Friday – Monday January 3-6 Drop/Add Period
Friday January 3 Classes begin
Friday January 10 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 11:45am-1:00pm in Belk Pavilion 208 – Service, Citizenship, Leadership
Monday January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. holiday (no classes)
Thursday January 23 Classes end
Friday January 24 Winter Term final exams
Monday January 27 Grades due at 12:00pm
Back to top
 

Spring Term 2020

Monday February 3 Classes begin
Friday February 7 School-based faculty meetings, 3:00pm
Friday February 14 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm in Belk Pavilion 208 – Being an effective and efficient academic adviser
Friday March 6 University-wide Faculty Meeting, 3:00pm
Friday-Saturday March 6-7 Fellows Weekend
Friday March 13 Mid-semester grades due at 3:00pm
Friday – Sunday March 13 – March 22 Spring Break (Spring Break Begins Following Friday Afternoon Classes. Ends 8am Monday.)
Friday April 3 Town hall faculty meeting, 3:00pm
Friday April 17 Monthly new full-time faculty meeting, 3:00-4:30pm, location TBD – Building your career at Elon
Monday – Friday April 27 – May 1 CELEBRATE! Week (Elon’s annual, weeklong celebration of student achievements in academics and the arts.)
Tuesday April 28 SURF – Spring Undergraduate Research Forum (no classes)
Wednesday April 29 Celebrate SoTL (hosted by CATL, CEL, CRGE) in Moseley 215 from 4:00-5:30pm
Friday May 1 University-wide Faculty Meeting, 3:00pm
Tuesday May 12 Last day of classes
Wednesday May 13 Reading Day (No classes, evening exams begin)
Thursday – Tuesday May 14-19 Final exams (Access the exam schedule on OnTrack.)
Wednesday May 20 Senior grades due by 9:00am
Friday May 22 Grades due at 12:00pm
Friday May 22 Commencement (faculty attend in academic regalia)
Back to top
 

Summer Session I – 2019

Thursday May 30 Classes Begin
Thursday June 27 Last Day of Classes
Friday June 28 Final Exams
Friday July 5 Grades due at 12:00pm
Back to top
 

Summer Session II – 2019

Monday July 8 Classes Begin
Friday July 26 Last Day of Classes
Tuesday July 30 Final Exams
Friday August 2 Grades due at 12:00pm
Back to top