The University Council on Alcohol and Other Drugs (CAOD)

New Title and Appointments
Effective October 2019, the former Committee on Alcohol and Other Drugs was changed to the Council on Alcohol and Other Drugs. The charge to the Council is to make recommendations to the Vice President for Student Life each year on ways to further a healthy social and intellectual climate by reducing the role of alcohol and other drugs in the student culture. The goal is to create a campus culture where students make wise choices that support their own success and that of others, and uphold their responsibilities as academic citizens of the Elon community. Toward these ends, the Council on Alcohol and Other Drugs will:

  • Develop and contribute to the Federal Drug-Free Schools and Campus Regulations biennial review.
  • Identify existing prevention, intervention, treatment and recovery programs for students; support ongoing assessment of these efforts; and make recommendations to improve outcomes.
  • Coordinate resources and communication among those responsible for alcohol and other drug programs.
  • Enhance community awareness of pertinent topics, trends, and resources; and engage faculty, staff, and students in ongoing efforts to support student health and well-being.

2020 – 2021 COAD Members

Whitney Gregory (Co-chair)
Assistant Dean of Students
wgregory@elon.edu

 


Julie Lellis (Co-chair)
Faculty Fellow for Substance Education                                  Associate Professor of Communications
jlellis@elon.edu


Callie Kelly
Coordinator of Student Wellness Programs                                  Campus Recreation and Wellness
ckelly26@elon.edu

 


Allison Agresti                                                                        Licensed Clinical Addiction Specialist
Counseling Services
aagresti@elon.edu

 


Jennifer Carroll
Faculty Expert in Substance Use                                              Assistant Professor of Anthropology
jcarroll16@elon.edu

 


Erica Thomas                                                                          Faculty Expert in Wellness                                                      Assistant Professor of Wellness
ethomas25@elon.edu

 


MarQuita Barker
Director of Residence Life                                                      Residence Life
mbarker4@elon.edu

 


Jenni Spangenberg
Director of Student Conduct                                                      Office of Student Conduct
jspangenberg@elon.edu


Jordan King
Associate Director of Student Involvement                              Student Involvement
jking37@elon.edu

 


Administrative Liaisons

Jana Lynn Patterson
Associate Vice President for Student Life / Dean of Students / Assistant Professor
patters@elon.edu

 


Paul Miller
Assistant Provost for Communications and Operations / Professor of Exercise Science
millerp@elon.edu 

 

 

 

2017 -2018 Committee on Alcohol and Other Drugs