Service Learning Faculty Scholars Program

Six faculty members are selected for the Service-Learning Faculty Scholars Program each year. These faculty attend a series of seminars during fall semester in which they learn about and discuss issues related to service-learning pedagogy. By the end of the fall semester, each faculty member has constructed a course syllabus that includes the integration of a service-learning project. The course will have a cap of 25 students. The faculty member makes a commitment to teach the newly designed course during the spring semester. Faculty who complete the program will be asked to serve as mentors for the next year’s incoming Service-Learning Faculty Scholars.

Faculty selected for the program receive a $1,000 stipend. Although the program seeks proposals for courses and faculty that have not previously incorporated service-learning, limited slots are available for more experienced service-learning faculty and the enhancement of courses that previously have included service- learning. Applications are due during spring semester. Visit the ASL for faculty page to download an application.

For more information about the benefits of teaching an ASL course, please visit our faculty benefits page.