Elon employees honored during 2023 Staff Appreciation Day

The staff members were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the university at a May 26 awards program during the annual staff day celebration.

Elon University employees were honored on May 26 for their contributions to the university in the annual staff awards program held inside Schar Center.

The Phoenix Innovation Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has displayed innovation by creating, designing, improving or implementing a new idea or program that benefits the university or community. The 2023 award was presented to Alyssa Martina, director of the Doherty Center for Creativity, Innovation & Entrepreneurship.

The Phoenix Rising Award is presented to one new member of the Elon staff who has consistently displayed excellence, inspired leadership and is a global citizen. The 2023 awards was presented Paul Hvozdovic, assistant director of Career Services for Student Athletes.

The Blanche Garrison Memorial Award, which was created in 2020, honors the contributions of hourly staff to mentoring, supporting, training, advising, supervising, coaching and befriending Elon students. It was established in memory of the late Blanche Garrison, an Elon Medallion awardee, who served the university with distinction as a housekeeper at Maynard House and was a friend to many staff, faculty and students across campus. The award was presented to Renie Thompson, payroll analyst.

The Phoenix Community Engagement Award was presented to Allison Bryan, director of the Curriculum Resources Center and associate librarian. The award recognizes a member of the Elon staff who has demonstrated exemplary service to the university, local or global community through their engagement in volunteer organizations. Bryan was unable to attend Friday’s award ceremony.

The inaugural winners of the Phoenix Collaborative Award were the Elon Day Technology Working Group members Chris Spires, Jozi Snowberger, Megan McClure, Lauren Forbis and Gregory McDaniel. The award is presented to an Elon team or group that has fostered cooperation, collaboration, and open communication across two or more departments/offices/centers on campus. These individuals or teams may have collaborated and worked together on a project, a significant effort, or an initiative that advances Elon’s strategic priorities, fostering inclusive community, the residential experience, health and wellness and/or operational excellence.

Jeana Schickedantz, program assistant in the English Department, was named Professional Hourly Staff Member of the Year; Sarah Stevens, custodian, was named Facilities Management Staff Member of the Year; and Whitney Gregory, assistant dean of students, was named Administrative Staff Member of the Year.

Four staff members were also recognized on stage for their retirements from Elon — Marty Baker, senior associate athletics trainer; Carl “CC” Cowan, manager of moving and set-ups; Keith Dimont, automotive services manager and Tallulah Shaw, custodian.

Other staff retiring this year include:

  • Paula Anderson – Assistant, Purchasing
  • Sheldon Carr – Lead Building Services Technician
  • Joan Dawson – Executive Assistant to the VP for University Advancement
  • Brenda Douglas – Associate Bursar and Coordinator of Elon University Perkins Program
  • Brian Fitts – Technology AV Support Specialist
  • Chris Fulkerson – Assistant Vice President for Administrative Services and Assistant Professor of Communications
  • Paul Harrod – Director, Internal Audit
  • Robert “Clay” Hassard – Senior Associate Director of Athletics
  • Jeffrey “Jeff” James – Chief Engineer
  • Beth Jennings – Program Assistant for Colonnades
  • Leon Knight – Floor Maintenance Worker
  • Jane Law – Registrar
  • Kathleen “Kate” McLeod – Associate Dean for Library and Information services, Associate Professor of Law
  • Wesley “Dale” Moore – Carpenter
  • Mary “Joyce” Pepper – Director of Payroll/Payables
  • René Summers – Program Assistant, NC Campus Engagement