The Department of Finance mentors an Elon undergraduate student team to compete in the CFA Institute Research Challenge (CFA IRC), an annual, global competition providing university students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis. Students work in teams to research and analyze a publicly traded company. Each team writes a research report on their assigned company with a buy, sell, or hold recommendation and presents and defends their analysis to a panel of industry professionals.

Apply to be on Elon’s team

Students interested in participating should submit the following:

  • A short (1-2 single-spaced page) statement of interest highlighting written, quantitative, and presentation skills. Also, include a list of upper-level finance classes already taken, and your proposed course schedules for the upcoming fall, winter, and spring semesters
  • An unofficial copy of your Elon University transcript (including declared majors and minors)
  • An updated resume (PDF).

Applications are due April 15.

Email Dr. Neeraj J. Gupta, CFA for further details and to submit your application. Students selected for the team will be notified by email shortly after the deadline.

Elon CFA IRC Team Members


Five people smiling

Jess Joblin
Nicole Giacalone
Thomas (TJ) Remillard
Zach Penta
Natalie Ivanov

headshots of six people2021
Molly Chapin
Connor Fioretti
Shawn O’Malley
Andrew Veilleux
Thea Vunk

Elon's 2020 CFA IRC team standing

Joseph Abrams
Gavin Cutrino
Sam Loeffler
Anthony Potenza
Charlie Trinco

John Carroll
Chris Folsom
Tanisha Gupta
Zach Lahey
Emma Ott

Elliot Eisen
Dan Ford
Matt Kushner
Lauren Ray
Nicole Resetar

2017 CFA IRC Team Member photo2017
Ken Crew
CJ Hunter
Harrison Rowe
Justin Scott
Samantha Torto

2016 CFA IRC Team Member photo2016
Abby Baric
Carly Davenport
Alex Francis
Bryan Kozin
Ryan Struble

2015 CFA IRC Team Member photo2015
Jeff Baldetti
Jessica Petrillo
Connor Rice
Kenneth Straub
Kaela Wnorowski

2014 CFA IRC Team Member photo2014
Welsford Bishopric
Matt Feldman
Peter Fox
Erica Green
Tayler Sirabella

2013 CFA IRC Team Member photo2013
JP Riley
Paul Robinson
Brian Sharnsky
Christian True
Justin Wanner

2012 CFA IRC Team Member photo2012
Andrea Brooke
Alex Dempsey
Andy Matz
Brad Schwartz
Greg Speake

2011 CFA IRC Team Member photo2011
Dylan Ketcham
Kaitlin Marvin
Kara Moore
Ryan Rosati
Matt Verboon