Faculty & Staff

  • Brant Touchette
    Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies and Chair of the Department of Environmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003K
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6185
    btouchette@elon.edu

    My research interests center on the ecology of aquatic and wetland systems.  More specifically, I am interested in how aquatic plants survive in areas that are typically hostile to most species. Aquatic plants often reside in submerged or flooded conditions where the substratum lacks oxygen and has redoxymorphic features that are typically stressful for most flowering plants. In coastal and marine systems, this stress is exacerbated by the presence of interstitial saline waters.  By characterizing the environmental limits and physiological adaptations to these otherwise harsh environments, we will be better able to design and reconstruct important wetland systems.

  • Robert Charest
    Associate Professor of Environmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003J
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-5615
    rcharest@elon.edu

    Professor Charest's research interests include sustainable architecutre. He has published and presented widely in the areas of academic design-build, quality affordable housing and community transformation.

  • Amanda Chunco
    Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003D
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6275
    achunco@elon.edu

    Biologists and naturalists since Darwin have noticed that patterns in a species’ distribution can reveal important information about the ecology and evolution of that species. Since early in human history, people have had a strong influence on species distributions. This is more of an issue today than at any point in history, as anthropogenic climate change, land use conversions, and species invasions are reshaping biological communities across the globe. My work uses field surveys, experiments, and computer modeling to understand the ecological and evolutionary forces underlying species distributions, with the end goal of aiding conservation efforts to preserve rare and endangered species.

    I encourage undergraduate students interested in research in wildlife ecology, conservation biology, or biogeography to contact me. I am happy to advise students who wish to pursue field work, GIS modeling, or a combination of both!

  • Janet MacFall
    Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology
    McMichael Science Building 003H
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6202
    macfallj@elon.edu
  • Steve Moore
    Lecturer in Environmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003F
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6271
    smoore24@elon.edu
  • Catherine Deininger
    Adjunct Instructor in Environmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003C
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6247
    cdeininger@elon.edu
  • Jerry Dorsett
    Adjunct Instructor in Environmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003E
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6293
    gdorsett@elon.edu
  • Tom Hoban
    Adjunct Assistant Professor Evnironmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003E
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6293
    thoban2@elon.edu
  • Patricia Thomas-Laemont
    Adjunct Instructor in Environmental Studies
    McMichael Science Building 003C
    2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
    (336) 278-6247
    plaemont@elon.edu
    Research interest: Behavioral ecology of small mammals

Faculty Emeritus

Andrew Angyal

 

Andrew Angyal, Professor Emeritus - Environmental Studies
Research interests: Environmental literature
[web page]
angyal@elon.edu


Associated Faculty/Staff

Samantha DiRosa
Associate Professor of Art and Environmental Studies
Elon West-406 W. Haggard Ave. 102D
2810 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5643
sdirosa@elon.edu
more »
Michael Kingston
Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies
McMichael Science Building 124E
2625 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6182
kingston@elon.edu
more »
Ryan Kirk
Assistant Professor of Geography and Environmental Studies
Lindner Hall - Arts & Sciences 112C
2335 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6477
rkirk2@elon.edu
more »
Douglas Redington
Associate Professor of Economics
Koury Business Center 114
2075 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5948
redingto@elon.edu
more »
Sharon Spray
Associate Professor of Political Science
Gray Pavilion - Pol. Science 210F
2333 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6430
sspray@elon.edu
more »
Michael Strickland
Lecturer in English and Environmental Studies
McMichael Science Building 003I
2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5625
mstrickl@elon.edu
more »
David Vandermast
Associate Professor of Biology
McMichael Science Building 124B
2625 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6171
dvandermast@elon.edu
more »
Anthony Weston
Professor of Philosophy
Spence Pavilion-Religion/Phil. 109
2340 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-5699
weston@elon.edu
more »
Honglin Xiao
Associate Professor of Geography
Lindner Hall - Arts & Sciences 112H
2335 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6408
hxiao@elon.edu
more »
Paul Moersdorf
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
McMichael Science Building 003E
2015 Campus Box Elon, NC 27244
(336) 278-6293
pmoersdorf@elon.edu
more »