About the Collection

Elon University’s Portrait Collection includes dozens of commissioned and donated works of prominent members of the campus community. Notable examples are the portraits of past Elon presidents: William S. Long, one of Elon’s founders and its first president; William W. Staley (second president); Emmett L. Moffitt (third president); William A. Harper (fourth president); Leon Edgar Smith (fifth president); J. Earl Danieley (sixth president); and Elon’s seventh president J. Fred Young.

Artists featured in the collection include Ned Bittinger, Henry Rood Jr., Joseph Wallace King, Michael del Priore, Tom Edgerton, Colleen Ward, Lisa Egeli and Peter Egeli.

Browse the Collection