E-Net News

Elon employees honored at Staff Appreciation Day

Six Elon staff members were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the university at an awards program May 27 during the annual staff recognition celebration in Alumni Memorial Gymnasnium.

John Barnhill '92, Brenda Crutchfield and Dawn Hensley were honored with staff day awards on May 27, 2016.

Six Elon university employees were honored May 27, 2016, for their contributions to the university in the annual awards programs attended by hundreds of staff in Alumni Memorial Gymnasium.

Brenda Crutchfield, program assistant in the Love School of Business, was named Office Staff Member of the Year; Dawn Hensley, landscape supervisor, was named Physical Plant Staff Member of the Year; and John Barnhill ’92, assistant vice president for University Advancement, was named Administrative Staff Member of the Year.

The Phoenix Community Engagement Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has demonstrated exemplary service to the university, local or global community through his or her engagement in volunteer organizations. The award went to Eric Biebel, plumber and mechanic in Elon's Physical Plant.

Garry Graham, Eric Biebel and Evan Small were honored with Phoenix Awards on May 27, 2016

The Phoenix Innovation Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has displayed innovation by creating, designing, improving or implementing a new idea or program that benefits the university or our community. The award went to Garry Graham, associate director of design in University Communications.

The Phoenix Rising Award is presented to one newer member of the Elon staff who has consistently displayed excellence in pursuit of the Elon Commitment with an engaged mind, inspired leadership and global citizenship. The award went to Evan Small, assistant director of the Kernodle Center for Service Learning and Community Engagement.

Elon President Leo M. Lambert presented the awards to each recipient.

The 2016 staff day program included a performance by magician and illusionist Mike Super.

Three staff members also were recognized on stage for their retirements from the university — Eva Boone, Faye Conally, Ron Klepcyk, Sara Peterson and Janice Ratliff.

Other staff retiring this year include Jimmy Graves, John Miles, Bob Truitt and Sheri Wall.

Roselee Papandrea Taylor,
5/23/2016 1:30 PM