E-Net News

Chalmers Brumbaugh awarded Order of the Long Leaf Pine

Representatives from North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory’s administration surprised the longtime Elon University professor of political science Thursday when they bestowed the award for Brumbaugh's service to the state.

Professor Chalmers Brumbaugh

Professor Chalmers Brumbaugh, whose dedication to experiential education and civic engagement has inspired generations of Elon University students, was bestowed Thursday with one of North Carolina’s highest honors: the Order of the Long Leaf Pine.

Staff members from the North Carolina Department of Administration’s Youth Advocacy and Involvement Office made their surprise afternoon visit to Gray Pavilion where the Department of Political Science and Policy Studies was holding a faculty meeting.

Brumbaugh was overwhelmed and humbled by the award. “I view this award as recognition for university educators who have contributed to the growth and development of students across the state,” he said afterward.

The Order of the Long Leaf Pine is among the most prestigious awards presented by North Carolina governors. Since 1963 it has recognized individuals who possess a proven record of extraordinary service to the state, make contributions to their communities, exert extra effort in their careers, and dedicate significant years of service to their organizations.

Brumbaugh has served on the North Carolina State Internship Council, a governor-appointed role, for 18 years. The council oversees 80 paid, summer interns in state agencies each year. Members of the council nominated Brumbaugh for the recognition.

Brumbaugh joined the Department of Political Science and Public Administration at Elon University in 1986 and would later provide leadership as department chair for 12 years. 

Throughout his career, Brumbaugh has devoted his energies to Elon’s model of engaged and experiential learning. In 2008, the university honored Brumbaugh with its Ward Family Excellence in Mentoring Award. In 2012, he was named Advisor of the Year in North Carolina for his work with Elon’s chapter of the North Carolina Student Legislature.  

Professor Chalmers Brumbaugh and his faculty colleagues in the Department of Political Science and Policy Studies

‚ÄčDuring the traditional semester periods, Brumbaugh teaches courses in Latin American politics and American Government. For many years, Brumbaugh took students to Costa Rica over Winter Term to study the history and politics of that country. For the last two years he has led programs to The Washington Center winter seminar on Politics and the Presidency.  

Brumbaugh also took students through the years to the Washington Center party convention series, attending eight national conventions with students. As a strong supporter of experiential learning, he has advised and mentored hundreds of interns during his Elon career.

Other Elon University leaders to have received the Order of the Long Leaf Pine include President Emeritus J. Earl Danieley ‘46, Vice President Emerita Jo Watts Williams ‘55, and former head football coach Jerry Tolley, who led Elon to two national championships in the early 1980s.




Eric Townsend,
3/4/2016 9:40 AM