E-Net News

New President Connie Ledoux Book leads final celebration of Alumni Gym

On her first day in office, Elon’s new president was on hand for the final regular season intercollegiate basketball game in Alumni Memorial Gymnasium. The game ended in a big Phoenix win.  

President Connie Ledoux Book was joined by students in the President's Box to cheer on the Phoenix.

The future met the past in Elon’s Alumni Gym on March 1 as new President Connie Ledoux Book helped mark the end of an era for the grand old facility. Next year, Elon’s men’s and women’s basketball teams and the volleyball team will begin play in Schar Center while Alumni Gym continues in use for recreational play and other institutional functions.

The first men’s game was played in Alumni Gym on Jan. 14, 1950, and the first women’s game on Feb. 3, 1972. After the Elon men’s team played its final game in Alumni Gym last Monday, the Phoenix women took on William & Mary to wrap up 68 years of basketball competition in the facility. The game ended with an Elon victory, 82-62.

Prior to the game, President Book hosted a faculty-staff tailgate dinner. She then gathered with a group of students in the president’s box for the 7 p.m. tip-off. Music played throughout the game included selections from President Book’s personal favorite playlist.

President Connie Ledoux Book (left) and Athletics Director Dave Blank (right) were joined on Robertson Court by standout athletes and administrators who contributed to the growth of women's athletics.

At halftime, Book joined Athletics Director Dave Blank on Robertson Court to honor alumni and administrators who played a pivotal role in the growth of women’s basketball at Elon. They included the following:

Janie Brown: A champion for female student-athletes, Brown retired in 2005 following 39 years at Elon, including more than 20 years of service as chair of Elon’s physical education department. She was a trailblazer in helping to advance the university’s women’s athletics program. She received the Daniels-Danieley Award in 1995 and the Elon Medallion in 2006. She also endowed the Dr. Janie P. Brown Women’s Athletic Scholarship.

Susan Yow: A Kodak All-American during the 1974-75 season after leading Elon to a 19-4 record with her sister, Kay, as head coach. A native of Gibsonville, N.C., she was a two-time All-State selection and three-year letter-winner from 1972 to 1975 and has won three gold medals with USA Basketball throughout her illustrious career as a coach following her playing days.

Jackie Meyers: The first recipient of the Bas-Night Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year Award in 1978, a two-time All-Carolinas Conference selection, and a four-year letter-winner from 1974 to 1978.

Kathy Morgan: A player who was instrumental in helping lay the groundwork for the Elon Women’s Basketball program from 1971 to 1973. In her final season, she helped the maroon and gold to a 20-1 record, which included a winning streak of 17 straight games.

Lou Williamson: A four-year letter-winner from 1978 to 1981 who is ranked fourth all-time in career points and field goals made and was a four-time All-Carolinas Conference selection. She was also a standout on the Elon softball team and in 1994, she was inducted in the Elon Sports Hall of Fame.

Elizabeth Bode: A four-year letter-winner from 1989 to 1993 and a standout defender for the maroon and gold during her tenure. During her senior year, she set the single-game record for steals in a game with 10 versus Longwood on January 27th, 1993.

Jayme Chikos: A standout point guard and three-time All-Big South honoree from the early 2000s who helped Elon make the transition to the Division I ranks. She recorded 612 assists over four years, the most in program history, and her 252 steals ranks fifth in Elon history.

Anissa Little: A four-year letter winner from 1989-1993 and senior captain.


Dan Anderson,
3/1/2018 3:55 PM