E-Net News

Phillips-Perry banquet honors black achievement

Some of the top students on campus were honored April 24, 2010, during an annual awards program that recognizes the accomplishments of African-American students at Elon University.

The 2010 Phillips-Perry Black Excellence Awards Banquet celebrated the academic success of full-time students and serves as an inspiration to all black students to excel in the classroom. Dr. Sir Walter Mack Jr., an Elon alum, served as the keynote speaker and George Johnson, dean of the Elon University School of Law, gave the Charge to Students.

The Phillips-Perry Black Excellence Awards is named in honor of Glenda Phillips, the first black student to attend Elon in 1963, and Eugene Perry, the first black student to graduate from Elon in 1969.

Academic Achievement Recipients
More than 100 students received awards for a 2009 fall semester GPA of 3.2 or higher, or a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. They are:

George Johnson, dean of Elon University School of Law, speaking at the 2010 Phillips-Perry Black Excellence Awards Banquet

Neima Abdulahi, ‘13, Decatur, GA
Daniel Baquet, ’11, Frederick, MD
Jermile Batten,’12, Midlothian, VA
Lauren Beckham, ’10, Ellicott, MD
Erin Blackwell, ’11, Owings Mills, MD
Amanda Bodenarain,’11, Charlotte, NC
Yakira Bristol,’10, Neptune, NJ
Cyntra Brown, ’10, Salisbury, NC
Brittany Byrd, ’10, Reston, VA
Brittany Carroll, ’11, Washington, DC
Devan Carter, ’10, Cascade, VA
Jennifer Celin, ’11, Washington, DC
Britney Chambers, ’09, Statesville, NC
Whitney Chambers, ’10, Statesville, NC
Brian Chinn, ’12, Silver Spring, MD
Karolyn Cook, ’10, Westfield, NJ
Kellye Coleman, ’10, Woodberry Forest, VA
Eugene Daniel III, ’11, Marietta, GA
Brenton Davis, ’10, Ellenwood, GA
Tiffany Davis, ’10, Ellenwood, GA
Caroline Denning, ’10, Raleigh, NC
Martina Dent, ’10, Baltimore, MD
Cheavanese Diedrick, ’10, Brooklyn, NY
Matthew Dinwiddie, ’11, Muncie, IN
Mykel Dodson, ’10, Chesapeake, VA
Ryan Elliott, ’11, Baltimore, MD
Tracey Evans, ’10, Durham, NC
Ayaan Forstall, ’10, Trucker, GA
Frances Gee, ’09, Stone Mountain, GA
Evan Glover, ’12, Bowie, MD
Brittney Godwin, ’11, Charlotte, NC
Christopher Graves, ’10, Elon, NC
Jasmine Gregory, ’12, Charlottesville, VA
Chelsea Gund, ’12, Washington, DC
Gregory Hairston Jr., ’11, Kernersville, NC
Brea Hamilton, ’12, Upper Marlboro, MD
Theresa Helmer, ’12, Kingsport, TN
Kyle Herbert, ’12, Hillsborough, NC
Shenee Howard, ’10, Grayson, GA
Brenna Humphries, ‘13, Marietta, GA
Tavia Hunt, ’10, Palo Alta, CA
Carmen Isaac, ’10, Beltsville, MD
Jasmine Jackson, ’12, Charlotte, NC
Ashley Jobe, ’12, Lexington, NC
Christian Jones, ’13, Durham, NC
Kaya Jones, ’10, Raleigh, NC
Raymund Jones,’10, Richmond, VA
Brandon Kennedy, ‘13, Ridgeway, SC
Devin Kennedy, ‘13, Ridgeway, SC
Marcus Lockamy, ’10, Raleigh, NC
Amanda Locke, ’13, Oak Hill, VA
Raven Manigault, ’13, Lexington Park, MD
Taylor Martin, ’12, Atlanta, GA
Alex Mask, ’12, Chapel Hill, NC
Kristen McDonald, ’10, Fayetteville, NC
Brandon McGee, ’12, Durham, NC
Ashley McGraw, ’10, Atlanta, GA
Shelby McKay, ’13, Baltimore, MD
Andrea McLean, ’13, Durham, NC
Janelle McNeil, ’13, South Attleboro, MA
Brandon McRae, ’12, Philadelphia, PA
Courtney Medley, ’12, Chesapeake, VA
Maggie Mial, ’12, Holly Springs, NC
Aisha Mitchell, ’12, Washington, DC
Jackson Moore, ’11, Newark, DE
Kelly Muren, ’10, Davis, CA
Amber Murphy, ’11, Edgewood, MD
Riese Narcisse, ’13, Cary, NC
Keyona Osborne, ’12, Morristown, NJ
Keadrick Peters, ’10, Forestville, MD
Dawn Peterson, ’12, Baton Rouge, LA
Jeremy Peterson, ’13, Winston-Salem, NC
Ghenet Pinderhughes, ’10, New York, NY
Benjamin Poole, ’13, Marietta, GA
Jasmine Powe, ’12, Baltimore, MD
Cedric Pulliam , ’12, Woodbridge, VA
Raafe-Ahmadd Purnsley, ’12, Durham, NC
Dionne Richardson, ’13, Columbia, MD
Ashley Robinson, ’11, Randallstown, MD
Mary Robinson, ’11, Chester, VA
Erica Scales, ’11, Madison, NC
Danica Shipley, ’10, Alpharetta, GA
Samuel Shoge, ’11, Chestertown, MD
Samantha Simunyu, ’13, Wake Forest, NC
Tameika Sizoo, ’10, Gibsonville, NC
Andrew Somers, ’12, Boca Raton, FL
Andrew Stevenson, ’13, Whitsett, NC
Alexa Sykes, ’13, Shaker Heights, OH
Blake Thompson, ’13, Elkridge, MD
Tiana Tucker, ’11, Washington, DC
Devarrick Turner, ’12, Burlington, NC
Brittany Walker, ’11, Greensboro, NC
Danaka Walker, ’10, Raleigh, NC
Brittany Washington, ’13, Hope Mills, NC
Collin Watson, ’11, Chapel Hill, NC
David Williams Jr.,’13, Chester, VA
Tavianna Williams,’11, Roxbury, MA
Zaccai Williams, ’12, Pikesville, MD
Jeffrey Williamson, ’13, Burlington, NC
Asha Wilson,’13, Centreville, VA
Robert Wohner, ’10, Jamaica, NY
Courtney Wynn,’10, Springdale, MD
Trevor Wynn, ’12, Charlotte, NC
Bennett Yancey,’10, Burlington, NC
Chelsea Yarborough,’12, Baltimore, MD


Brenna Humphries: Freshman Female

Alexa Sykes: Freshman Female

Devin Kennedy: Freshman Male

Chelsea Gund: Sophomore Female

Aisha Mitchell:
Sophomore Female

Trevor Wynn: Sophomore Male

Maggie Mial: Junior Female

Ryan Elliot: Junior Male

Brittany Byrd: Senior Female

Robert Wohner: Senior Male

Tiffany Davis: Female Athlete

Khirey Walker
: Male Athlete

ALUMNI GIFT - Established in 2003, the gift of $100 is given by Elon alumna Ablavi Gbenyon in honor of her late mother, Enid Gbenyon.
· Aisha Mitchell

ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIP - The Black Cultural Society Academic Scholarship is based on an individual’s student achievement and notable contribution to the Elon community. This award is designed to encourage students to take advantage of the Elon Experience.
· Ashley Jobe

· Jerry Staples

SORORITY GIFT - In 2007, the Omicron Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated established the “Collecting Change to Make a Change” textbook award to benefit a female student at Elon University. The award of $200 is to be used in the fall semester.
· Whitley Dozier

The Multicultural Center partnered with Elon’s Gospel Choir, Black Cultural Society, and Student Activities to bring to campus a Gospel Extravaganza following the BEA dinner. The event featured the national recording gospel artist John P. Kee and New Life Community Choir.

Partial proceeds from ticket sales directly supported the African American Scholarship fund as well as disaster relief in the nation of Haiti.

Eric Townsend,
5/7/2010 1:28 PM