E-Net News

Four leaders in the law join Elon's Law School Advisory Board

Elon University is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members of the university's Law School Advisory Board, each of whom has been recognized for remarkable contributions to the legal profession and to society: Carole W. Bruce, W. Randy Eaddy, Bassam N. Ibrahim, and Mark London.

“We are pleased to welcome into Elon’s Law School Advisory Board these four lawyer leaders, each with outstanding perspective and broad experience in the legal profession and in civic life,” said George R. Johnson, Jr., dean of Elon University School of Law. “We look forward to the many contributions they will make to support the academic and service missions of Elon Law.”

Carole W. Bruce, an attorney with Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP in Greensboro, North Carolina, specializes in estate and inheritance tax, estate administration, charitable organizations, and other tax planning matters. She holds an MBA from Auburn University and a law degree from Wake Forest University School of Law. She was selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2010, Trusts and Estates section and received the North Carolina Bar Association Citizen Lawyer Award in 2009. Bruce serves as President of the Rotary Club of Greensboro, Treasurer of Sit-In Movement, Inc., International Civil Rights Center and Museum, and as a director for the boards of The Joseph M. Bryan Foundation, The Stanley and Dorothy Frank Family Foundation, and the Greensboro Partnership.

W. Randy Eaddy, a partner with Kilpatrick Stockton LLP in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, focuses his practice on securities and capital formation transactions, mergers and acquisitions, and corporate governance. A graduate of Furman University, Eaddy received his law degree from Harvard University. He has been recognized for more than 10 years in The Best Lawyers in America for Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Corporate Law and Securities Law. His civic leadership positions include membership in the Furman University Board of Trustees, the Reynolda House Museum of American Art Board of Trustees, the Metropolitan Atlanta United Way Board of Directors and Executive Committee, and the American Bar Association Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity in the Profession.

Bassam N. Ibrahim, an attorney and shareholder with Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC in Alexandria, Virginia, has extensive experience in domestic and international trademark counseling, trademark and domain name disputes and litigation before arbitration forums and in U.S. district courts and circuit courts of appeal. A graduate of Elon University, Ibrahim received his law degree from Georgetown University Law Center. He serves as vice chair of the U.S. Trademark Law Committee, Intellectual Property Owners Association, and Chair of the Trademark Licensing Committee, Licensing Executives Society. Fluent in Arabic, he is a member of the American Bar Association Section of International Law, Washington Lawyers for the Arts, and American Intellectual Property Law Association.

Mark London, a trial lawyer in the law firm of London & Mead in Washington, D.C., specializes in all aspects of civil litigation including securities fraud, construction, civil fraud, partnership disputes, civil conspiracy, law firm management, insurance coverage, and complex divorce. He is a graduate of Amherst College and George Washington University Law Center. Fluent in Spanish and Portuguese, he is the co-author, with Brian Kelly, of “The Last Forest: The Amazon in the Age of Globalization”, “Amazon”, the first book ever written for a general audience on the conflict between the economic development and environmental preservation of the rainforest, and “Four Little Dragons: Inside Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Singapore at the Dawn of the Pacific Century”.

Members of the Law School Advisory Board include three former chief justices of the Supreme Court of North Carolina, two former governors of the state, and a number of nationally recognized lawyers, business leaders, and scholars, including David Gergen, former adviser to four United States presidents and Director of the Center for Public Leadership and Professor of Public Service at the Harvard Kennedy School, who serves as chair of the advisory board.

Click here for a complete list of Law School Advisory Board members.

Philip Craft,
1/25/2011 4:53 PM